Zippy Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Made this recipe for our annual Christmas Eve Brunch Open House---huge hit with adults and children alike! Instead of suggested seasonings, I used Old Bay for a MD touch. Ended up printing the recipe for 5 friends who made it for Christmas morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I'm not an "egg" person. But I LOVED THIS! It is more cheese, half and half and croutons than eggs. Super delish! The first time I had it, it was made just as the recipe called for and it was to die for. I just made it myself for the first time and used all medium cheddar, bacon instead of sausage and 1% milk mixed with a little butter (about 5 tablespoons melted into milk) and it was awesome! I love the versatility of this recipe. I think I could use endless combinations of cheese and meet or veggies and it would turn out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I used homemade turkey breakfast sausage, Texas Toast croutons and one can evaporated milk (I don't keep half-n-half on hand). I added a teaspoon garlic powder and a touch Frank's Hot Sauce to the egg mixture. This was very tasty though quite greasy. I'd make this again but I would cut the cheese back by half. I served this casserole with homemade biscuits and Parmesan potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
THIS WAS AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
My family loves this. I use turkey sausage and put the onions and sausage on top of the croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Great recipe! I would recommend lining your baking pan with foil first. I made the mistake of making cinnamon rolls using the same 9x13 and even though I washed it, a trace amount of cinnamon taste came off on to the egg casserole. It ruined the dish. Have made it many times...foil saves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
this was SO good. i made it and baked it right away lol. i'm sure overnight would have been better, but it was still amazing. i replaced the swiss cheese with more pepperjack and put half the cheddar on top and half on bottom of the casserole. i also added in one chopped green bell pepper, 1/2 onion chopped, and a few mushrooms chopped. i added all the veggies to the sausage fry pan for about 5 minutes after the meat was already browned. i also added in a 1/2 t of garlic powder to the egg mixture. so good! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This was good. Heavy and greasy, of course, as all breakfast casseroles are, but quite tasty. I think it would have been even better with salsa or other fresh toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This was really good, but is really high in fat and calories. I cut back a bit on the cheese and subbed frozen shredded hashbrowns for the croutons. I hope this cut off a few grams of fat! I do think this had just the right amount of heat - enough to add flavor, without overshadowing the cheese, egg and mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This was recently given to me after a death in my family. It was intended to be used the next morning. We didn't bake it until 2 mornings had passed. How wonderful it was. It was the perfect breakfast to serve for my grieving out of town guests. Thanks to my friend who made this for me and thanks to ANY14TNS for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States