Zippy Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Made this yesterday for a jewelry party my daughter in law was having. I was not there but she said not one piece of anything was left in the bowl, and I had to send her the recipe this am for 5 people who ask her for it. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I have looked for a cucumber salad that we really liked and now I have found it! The flavors all go together perfectly. What a great summer salad. I followed the recipe exactly and it is super as is. Thank you, Cheryl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri's Best Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philadelphia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Spring Hope, North Carolina, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Colorful and tasty! I used honey in place of the sugar, and next time I will use less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This was so good. I always make the same old cucumber salad and this was an awesome change! The nutmeg scared me but it was such an interesting twist that really complimented the flavors. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I made this as per the recipe except using pickled jalapenos since that's all I had. We thought it was great! I love the ginger/rice vinegar combo. This is a perfect side dish in the summertime when you don't want to turn on the stove! The next time I made it, I used two packages of Splenda rather than sugar and added more vinegar since we do really like a "zippy" salad and it was even more suited to our taste buds :o) I grew up eating cucumbers in vinegar with salt and pepper and I still love that, but this is a nice variation when we have a large crop of cucumbers in the summer! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
We loved this! We will keep making as long as the cucumbers are coming in! The jalapenos and cucumbers paired nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Easy to make, colorful, and a little bit different. I don't like vinegar, so I made substituted 1/8 of a cup of lemon juice for vinegar, and I think it's fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This is one of our favorite cucumber recipes. It's easy and we always have the ingredients on hand. We typically do not add the ginger, but it was a nice change. It's a nice addition to spring rolls, noodle bowls or sushi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I loved this. I have made it twice this week to use all my cucumbers. It is like the "goumet" version of the cuke salad my grandmother made when I was a kid. I love the ginger and the kick of the jalepenos. I used stevia instead of sugar and can't tell there's no sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
absolutely loved it! for 45 yrs Ive eaten the sugar/vinegar/oil cukes, and finally have found a better version! I wouldnt change a thing, but Im pondering doubling the sauce and adding grn/red peppers, broccoli and cauliflower to the mix next time! I go adventurous once I find a recipe I love, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States