Zippy Cranberry Cheddar Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
This needs to sit for awhile for the flavors to blend. It is great with chipotle pepper instead of cayenne for a smoky flavor. For those who want a zippier spread, try a minced jalapeno pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
A wonderful blend of flavors for any time of the year!! I added extra spices for extra zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
I doubled the amount of dried cranberries and only used half of the mustard powder and cayenne. Next time, I'll use regular cheddar instead of sharp; sharp had a bit of a strongbitter taste in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Excellent! Very well received at Thanksgiving. It is much, much better the day after and if it is allowed to sit at room temp for awhile! My new favorite spread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
My friend made this and it was so yummy! The perfect amount of tang, sweetness and zest! I'm going to be making this for my family for Christmas. Delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Not stellar, but still very good. This was mild & had no "wow factor". Here is what I did: used extra sharp cheddar cheese, used mayo instead of the milk, doubled the spices & used about 1/4 cup of the cranberries (which I chopped in the food processor before using.) You definatley need to use the extra spices & berries. I can't imagine using only 2 T berries. Just eye-ball it - trust me, you need the extra berries.You might even want to throw in your favorite spices to jazz it up. I would suggest using this as a base to play with until you get a flavor you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I loved this. It definitely isn't just your plain old cheese slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I enjoyed the combination of flavors in this spread. I added a little garlic powder although it was a little too powerful the next day. This tastes great on celery sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Just made this recipe for a fundraiser at my library featuring Cape Cod foods (cranberries in this case.) Major plusses: it only took a few minutes to make since I used packaged shredded cheese AND it can be made a few days ahead. BUT it does need more flavor. On the recommendation of previous reviewers, I doubled the spices, and increased the dried cranberries to 1/2 cup. I added Worcerstershire Sauce to taste (beginning at 1 teaspoon) and also used the sharpest grated cheddar I could find. Finally, just before serving with crackers, I sprinkled 1/2 cup of toasted slivered almonds (obtained already toasted from Trader Joe's) over the top of the cheese. So easy and very flavorful with the increased flavorings. I'll make it again for guests and potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CapeCodCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
This was ok ... it was easy to make, but needs more spices - if i make it again i'll use dijon mustard and tabasco and lots of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Cranberry Sangria

A spiced Cranberry Sangria is perfect for any fall or winter holiday celebration.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States