Zippy Cranberry Cheddar Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
A wonderful blend of flavors for any time of the year!! I added extra spices for extra zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
I doubled the amount of dried cranberries and only used half of the mustard powder and cayenne. Next time, I'll use regular cheddar instead of sharp; sharp had a bit of a strongbitter taste in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Excellent! Very well received at Thanksgiving. It is much, much better the day after and if it is allowed to sit at room temp for awhile! My new favorite spread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
I was very disappointed. Brought this to a book club meeting. Nobody could even taste the cayenne or mustard and even the cranberries were lackluster!! Tasted like cream cheese with some added cheese. I can't believe somebody actually REDUCED the spices for a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I loved this. It definitely isn't just your plain old cheese slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
This was ok ... it was easy to make, but needs more spices - if i make it again i'll use dijon mustard and tabasco and lots of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicky McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
This needs to sit for awhile for the flavors to blend. It is great with chipotle pepper instead of cayenne for a smoky flavor. For those who want a zippier spread, try a minced jalapeno pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This was ok. I made it as part of a holiday feast for company, and chose not to serve it because it was rather bland, with just an aftertaste of cayenne tingling. It seems to be missing something-- maybe spicy brown mustard or Worchestershire or brown sugar... I may try again, or I may not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I enjoyed the combination of flavors in this spread. I added a little garlic powder although it was a little too powerful the next day. This tastes great on celery sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Not stellar, but still very good. This was mild & had no "wow factor". Here is what I did: used extra sharp cheddar cheese, used mayo instead of the milk, doubled the spices & used about 1/4 cup of the cranberries (which I chopped in the food processor before using.) You definatley need to use the extra spices & berries. I can't imagine using only 2 T berries. Just eye-ball it - trust me, you need the extra berries.You might even want to throw in your favorite spices to jazz it up. I would suggest using this as a base to play with until you get a flavor you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Cranberry Sangria

A spiced Cranberry Sangria is perfect for any fall or winter holiday celebration.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States