Zippy Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Very good recipe. I make it a couple of times a year most notably for our New Year's Eve gatherings. The pot is always scraped clean. I do change this a little by adding more potato and I use sweet white frozen corn. I also add just a little bit more red pepper flakes. It gives it a sweet yet spicy kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Very tasty. I put some fresh parmesan cheese on top when it was served. Mmmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I have perfected my version of this recipe now. I use double the red potatoes with the skin still on them, an extra cup of frozen corn, extra diced red peppers, twice the jalapeno peppers, a serrano pepper, and at the end while it's still simmering, I mix two tablespoons of butter with a 1/4 cup flour and a drop of heavy whipping cream. I blend it carefully and add it slowly to the simmering mix. It thickens the mixture just enough to keep it chowder-like, and not soup-like. This is always a major, major hit. I've also sauteed garlic, onions, and boneless, skinless chicken and diced it into the mixture. Very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Circleville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Blacklick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I look forward to Fall so I can make this wonderful chowder to warm my family up on those nippy nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mischiefsgirl
Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Wasn't very creamy and the none of the flavors really stood out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Wow! Easy, healthy, and yummy! A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This was way more bland than I anticipated. I used heavy cream instead of milk, added bacon pieces and more paprika. It turned out a bit better after that but I most likely will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksdale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Didn't have jalapeno peppers but the pepper flakes made it spicy enough and I like spicy !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Huge hite with my family! Everyone loved it. I did not add the jalapeno peppers and just a tad of the red pepper flakes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This was SO bland. I kept adding salt!! The only change I made was to include a bag of small cooked shrimp, which was the saving grace of this chowder. I think maybe some hot sauce will improve the flavor. The texture was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States