Zippy Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I was a little skeptical when I saw that ketchup was one of the ingredients, but I wanted to try something new & I had a pound of ground beef to cook. I was pleasantly surprised by the way this turned out! I didn't think it was too sweet, probably I used a bit less ketchup than what the recipe called for. I also used fresh red onions & Parmesan cheese, since that's what I had on hand. I didn't have bell peppers but next time I think peas would be a good addition.I know I used more than 1 cup of macaroni, but I just eyeballed it so I don't have the exact measurement. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
A little sweet but great!! I used more noodles, increased the bell pepper, reduced the ketchup to 1/2c and a little more cheese. Also, instead of dry minced onion (1 cup? WOW! but a little too much for me!) I diced some onion and sauted it with the beef. I'll make this again for busy evenings on the go, and perhaps I'll take the tomato soup suggestion, just to see if it improves even more! Thanks Eileen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This was okay but I added jalapeno, onion, garlic, 1Tb. Chili powder, Cummin, to the meat while browning. No bell pepper and my family loved it. It is zippy now. Ace
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
Yummy! My mom used to make this for me all the time when I was a kid. She didnt put the potato chips on top but they added just the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatarat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paragonah, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I made this today for dinner and we loved it! The only thing I will do different next time is leave off the potato chips. We didn't like the texture it gave. Otherwise, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
I made this for dinner last night and it was very good. My husband really liked it. I did as the other reviewer suggest and used tomato soup instead of catsup. I go to a lot of potlucks amd this is a dish I will diffently make to take to them. It was very easy to make. The potatoe chips really add to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I altered the recipe a bit. After adding 1/2 c. of ketchup, it was too sweet for me so I added 2 tbsp of chili powder, a dash of paprika,pepper and two shakes of hot sauce. To add color I added mixed veggies. The family loved it! It was like mac and cheese meets hamburger helper. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
I used to make this for my kids when they were little (it was out annual trick or treat night dinner) and they loved it. Back then i used ketchup and thought it was good but the taste of the ketchup was overpowering. As someone suggested, I tried tomato soup and it was much better. Also, I doubled the cheese and used a mexican cheese blend, used red peppers instead of green and sprinkled some fresh parmesan cheese on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Good. Next time will follow previous reviewer and use tomato soup instead of ketchup. (Ketchup was a little too sweet.) Used whole wheat elbows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
this is a keeper!instead of potato chips used french fried onions...my 3 yr old granddaughter had seconds so it must be a hit and plus my 16 yr old son who is a critic on my cooking he even had seconds...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States