Zippy Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This recipe is good comfort food. Simple to put together. I added some chopped celery and skipped the peppers as i added a can of mexicorn for a veg. I also took input from others and used tomato soup instead of the ketchup. Served with corn muffins and green salad. This made alot for 4 people! Will take leftovers to work and share tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This was good recipe for a busy day. It was quick and good. The kids liked it and with a green salid it was a good meal. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
My husband and I thought this was pretty good, but I did change it up a bit. I used about 1/2 of a large sweet onion, chopped, I also added 1 tsp minced garlic from the jar, and I used roasted red bell pepper instead of the green bell pepper. I cooked all of this with the meat. I decreased the amount of ketchup to 1/3 cup, and used 1/2 the amount of topping, which I made from ritz crackers and cheese pringles. My husband said it kind of tasted like lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I liked it it was quick but my family didn't like it. My hubby said it was the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
We both enjoyed this for something very casual and different. Made great leftovers for him to take to work! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
I used to make this for my kids when they were little (it was out annual trick or treat night dinner) and they loved it. Back then i used ketchup and thought it was good but the taste of the ketchup was overpowering. As someone suggested, I tried tomato soup and it was much better. Also, I doubled the cheese and used a mexican cheese blend, used red peppers instead of green and sprinkled some fresh parmesan cheese on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
My husband liked this recipe. Me not so much. All it tasted like was peppers, couldn't taste the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
Thank you! Husband and picky eater son liked it. I changed the recipe a little. I used basic cream sauce instead of Cream of Mushroom soup and based on previous reviews, used less ketchup - husband said it needed more ketchup so I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
A little sweet but great!! I used more noodles, increased the bell pepper, reduced the ketchup to 1/2c and a little more cheese. Also, instead of dry minced onion (1 cup? WOW! but a little too much for me!) I diced some onion and sauted it with the beef. I'll make this again for busy evenings on the go, and perhaps I'll take the tomato soup suggestion, just to see if it improves even more! Thanks Eileen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
I made this for dinner last night and it was very good. My husband really liked it. I did as the other reviewer suggest and used tomato soup instead of catsup. I go to a lot of potlucks amd this is a dish I will diffently make to take to them. It was very easy to make. The potatoe chips really add to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States