Zippy Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I made this today for dinner and we loved it! The only thing I will do different next time is leave off the potato chips. We didn't like the texture it gave. Otherwise, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This was okay but I added jalapeno, onion, garlic, 1Tb. Chili powder, Cummin, to the meat while browning. No bell pepper and my family loved it. It is zippy now. Ace
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
Yummy! My mom used to make this for me all the time when I was a kid. She didnt put the potato chips on top but they added just the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatarat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paragonah, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I altered the recipe a bit. After adding 1/2 c. of ketchup, it was too sweet for me so I added 2 tbsp of chili powder, a dash of paprika,pepper and two shakes of hot sauce. To add color I added mixed veggies. The family loved it! It was like mac and cheese meets hamburger helper. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This recipe was great! My fussy 3 year old ate a whole plate. I usually don't like to alter recipes until I have tried the original - but I had to make a few changes due to available ingredients. I used penne noddles (1-1/2 cups)I didn't have minced onions so I added French's french fried onions, and lastly instead of plain chips I used archer farms maple bar-b-que. I think the flavored chips added alot. It was very delicious and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I have been making this for years. My recipe calls for 2 T minced onion and that's plenty. I also omit green pepper as my kids don't like it. Otherwise I follow the recipe exactly and we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
this recipe was very tasty i added 3 habnero peppers, cumin and garlic powder other than that i add grated cheddar cheese it was really good and my family liked it too thank u
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMSMOM23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I grew up with this casserole as the staple my family too to reunions! I love it. What I do differently though is use some American Cheese in addition to the cheddar. It adds a creamier texture. Also I add a bit more ketchup. It adds a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
My husband went back two more times to load up his plate! I did add twice the noodles since I just had spiral ones in the house and not elbow mac. I also only had shredded parmesan and used that instead of the cheddar. It looks like in the photo that they used regular chips and I used the rippled kind. I like them better for breading since there is more to them. 5 stars! Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States