Zippy Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I was a little skeptical when I saw that ketchup was one of the ingredients, but I wanted to try something new & I had a pound of ground beef to cook. I was pleasantly surprised by the way this turned out! I didn't think it was too sweet, probably I used a bit less ketchup than what the recipe called for. I also used fresh red onions & Parmesan cheese, since that's what I had on hand. I didn't have bell peppers but next time I think peas would be a good addition.I know I used more than 1 cup of macaroni, but I just eyeballed it so I don't have the exact measurement. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I altered the recipe a bit. After adding 1/2 c. of ketchup, it was too sweet for me so I added 2 tbsp of chili powder, a dash of paprika,pepper and two shakes of hot sauce. To add color I added mixed veggies. The family loved it! It was like mac and cheese meets hamburger helper. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This was a really easy, cheap meal, and the ketchup gave it a really good flavor. My kids liked it, and I can see making this a lot when I'm pressed for time and unable to find stuff to cook, as I always have these types of ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara North

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This recipe is good comfort food. Simple to put together. I added some chopped celery and skipped the peppers as i added a can of mexicorn for a veg. I also took input from others and used tomato soup instead of the ketchup. Served with corn muffins and green salad. This made alot for 4 people! Will take leftovers to work and share tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This was good recipe for a busy day. It was quick and good. The kids liked it and with a green salid it was a good meal. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
My husband and I thought this was pretty good, but I did change it up a bit. I used about 1/2 of a large sweet onion, chopped, I also added 1 tsp minced garlic from the jar, and I used roasted red bell pepper instead of the green bell pepper. I cooked all of this with the meat. I decreased the amount of ketchup to 1/3 cup, and used 1/2 the amount of topping, which I made from ritz crackers and cheese pringles. My husband said it kind of tasted like lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I liked it it was quick but my family didn't like it. My hubby said it was the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
We both enjoyed this for something very casual and different. Made great leftovers for him to take to work! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
I used to make this for my kids when they were little (it was out annual trick or treat night dinner) and they loved it. Back then i used ketchup and thought it was good but the taste of the ketchup was overpowering. As someone suggested, I tried tomato soup and it was much better. Also, I doubled the cheese and used a mexican cheese blend, used red peppers instead of green and sprinkled some fresh parmesan cheese on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
My husband liked this recipe. Me not so much. All it tasted like was peppers, couldn't taste the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States