Zippy Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
My first attempt at BBQ sauce. I followed the recipe to the letter and loved it. Agree with leaving it overnight. It certainly tasted better for it. I'll definitely use this one a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I didn't have molasses so I upped the brown sugar. It came out great! Not a finicky recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I mostly followed this. Except I whisked the ingredients in the bottom of a crockpot, added another half cup water, tossed in some frozen boneless skinless chicken pieces and refrigerated overnight. Cooked all day on low. Used a little arrowroot to thicken, adding another half cup of water in the process. My family believes they would be happiest if I made this 4 days a week for the rest of their lives. Impossible to add a photo because there is nothing left. I am going to used this for a OAMC recipe. Will work great. I like being popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel Fitzhugh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I made this for a company party and got RAVE reviews! I followed the recipe to a "T" with one small change. I had smoked some pork shoulders for pulled pork and was left with some wonderful smoky drippings! I added about a tablespoon of the drippings (fat skimmed of course) to the sauce, wow! It totally lifted this already AMAZING sauce to a new level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This is the BEST recipe! I love the flavor of Sweet Baby Ray original BBQ sauce. This tastes like it except without the nasty corn syrup/high fructose corn syrup in it. I have a bad allergy to corn products so this is my go-to BBQ sauce. I love it so much! Thank you for this recipe :) I will use it forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this today. I substituted the hot sauce with Frank's Thick Hot sauce. I decreased the ketchup to 3/4c. I added rice white wine 1 TBL. 2 T Brown sugar. I didn't add garlic because I had garlic in my dry rub. I used dark molasses. cooked 20 minutes. Used right away basting ribs every 15 minutes. ( I dry rubbed my ribs the night before. Placed in a broiler pan with 1/4 c red wine vinegar and filled to top with water, lightly cover with aluminum foil, bake at 375 for an hour and half. Then basted every 15 minutes for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Really good and Tangy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
It was a little bland as written, but I added another tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce and 2 tablespoons of mustard, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Excellent! Excellent! So easy and quick to make and the flavor is spectacular, highly recommend. Also, there is plenty of room for creative variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Used this for BBQ Pork Sandwiches. It was the perfect sauce for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Chef John's Mayo Method Steak Sauce

Discover the formula for delicious, last-minute steak sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States