Zippy Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Tasty. Bottled BBQ sauce usually has smoke flavoring, which is a no-no for people allergic to MSG. I forgot Worcestershire, but it turned out well anyway. To give smokiness I subbed chipotle pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Very nice barbecue sauce. Not too sweet. I used fresh garlic instead of dry because that is what I had. I grilled some baby back ribs and basted them generously with this sauce and it was ONO. Thanks for sharing Havicc Brine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I made this sauce for the first time this weekend for use in making ribs in the slow cooker. They were a huge hit! I don't like the thick sauces that seem to have become standard these days, and was very pleased with the consistency. The straying I did from the recipe was that I used crushed dundicut peppers to give it the kick instead of Tabasco. It was simply outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Great sauce ... I used it for BBQ beef sandwiches that I made in the crockpot. Can't wait to use it for all my other BBQ recipes! No more store bought for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I made it as written, except for the white wine vinegar because I was out. The apple cider vinegar I subbed worked great and the sauce was so delicious it will be the only recipe I will use from now on. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Really nice. Much less boring than the typical barbecue sauce. I prefer my bbq sauce on the spicier, less ketchup-y side of the scale, and this was just right. I started out making a small batch for a sandwhich, then tasted it, and wished I had made a lot more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
The best homemade bbq sauce I have ever made. Goes wonderful with pork ribs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karebearfluff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacombe, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
My whole family is IN LOVE with this recipe! We don;t even buy BBQ sauce anymore, we just refill BBQ sauce bottles with this sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I have been using this recipe for a couple years now, it is by far our favorite. It has just the right mix of flavors, and I almost always have the ingredients on hand, although I sometimes substitute honey for the molasses and minced fresh garlic for the powder. It works well on pork, beef and chicken, in the crockpot, on the grill or in the oven. I have tried using it without refrigerating it first, it's good but best when it has a chance for the flavors to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Great! I substituted in regular mustard, a healthy squirt of Sriracha sauce, and a few cloves' worth of minced fresh garlic. I usually don't particularly care for barbecue sauce, so this is a great find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Chef John's Mayo Method Steak Sauce

Discover the formula for delicious, last-minute steak sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States