Zippy Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Very quick to prepare and a tasty sauce. I also whipped this together when I was out of barbecue sauce (and Tabasco), so added 1/2 of a finely diced chipotle pepper (drained off the adobo sauce), and used a sugar-free ketchup, because husband needs to cut down sugar. Chipotle added a nice underlying smokiness to the taste, I would recommend it. Simmered it for about 35-40 minutes, because I needed it that night. It was quite good even the same day, but was definitely a better sauce the next day, worth the wait. It was a hit, and will make it again. Thank you for adding it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
good sauce, i used regular vinegar and it turned great... next time i'll use different kinds of vinegar to see whats flavors come out... but i liked it, i cooked up some choppe up chicken and made some chicken sandwiches with it.... now ribs are cooking and i'm gonna do those with the sauce....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Slidell, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Delicious. Tangy and sweet and very zippy! I reduced the Tabasco by half so there would be a higher chance that my kids would eat it. I made it the night before, and then used it on beef ribs in the crock pot. Wonderful flavor! The ribs are gone, but I've been eating the leftover sauce on rice all week. I'll make this again any time I need a bbq sauce and have time to let it sit all night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seymour, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Belchertown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I made it as written, except for the white wine vinegar because I was out. The apple cider vinegar I subbed worked great and the sauce was so delicious it will be the only recipe I will use from now on. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This is the best barbecue sauce recipe ever. I followed the recipe exactly, but doubled it as I was making it for a pork butt in the slow cooker. The aroma in the house made us craving the pork all day. I used about a cup of it to cook the pork in and added more to the pulled pork when I served it. DELICIOUS! Why buy those expensive sauces with lots of additives when you can make a great sauce with ingredients I have in my pantry. Thank you Havicc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA
Living In: Carmel, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I have a pork shoulder in the Crockpot headed towards pulled pork. I wanted a special barbecue sauce. This is an excellent basic recipe - all the important elements are there. I did tweak it a little and it is AMAZING! I used a little less worcestershire sauce, fresh minced garlic instead of granulated, used Sriracha instead of Tabasco and added some onion powder and two bay leaves. THEN, I added two tablespoons of Jack Daniels whiskey. I've decided to make a huge batch and keep it in the fridge. It is SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HopeLivzOn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA
Living In: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Very nice barbecue sauce. Not too sweet. I used fresh garlic instead of dry because that is what I had. I grilled some baby back ribs and basted them generously with this sauce and it was ONO. Thanks for sharing Havicc Brine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Very good and easy to make! I ended up using Rice wine vinegar because that's what I had and it was still delicious. I think you could experiment with using different vinegars if you wanted to. I think this is a good all around bbq sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napoleon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I have been using this recipe for a couple years now, it is by far our favorite. It has just the right mix of flavors, and I almost always have the ingredients on hand, although I sometimes substitute honey for the molasses and minced fresh garlic for the powder. It works well on pork, beef and chicken, in the crockpot, on the grill or in the oven. I have tried using it without refrigerating it first, it's good but best when it has a chance for the flavors to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
My whole family is IN LOVE with this recipe! We don;t even buy BBQ sauce anymore, we just refill BBQ sauce bottles with this sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Chef John's Mayo Method Steak Sauce

Discover the formula for delicious, last-minute steak sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States