Zippy Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Delicious. Tangy and sweet and very zippy! I reduced the Tabasco by half so there would be a higher chance that my kids would eat it. I made it the night before, and then used it on beef ribs in the crock pot. Wonderful flavor! The ribs are gone, but I've been eating the leftover sauce on rice all week. I'll make this again any time I need a bbq sauce and have time to let it sit all night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seymour, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Belchertown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Very quick to prepare and a tasty sauce. I also whipped this together when I was out of barbecue sauce (and Tabasco), so added 1/2 of a finely diced chipotle pepper (drained off the adobo sauce), and used a sugar-free ketchup, because husband needs to cut down sugar. Chipotle added a nice underlying smokiness to the taste, I would recommend it. Simmered it for about 35-40 minutes, because I needed it that night. It was quite good even the same day, but was definitely a better sauce the next day, worth the wait. It was a hit, and will make it again. Thank you for adding it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
good sauce, i used regular vinegar and it turned great... next time i'll use different kinds of vinegar to see whats flavors come out... but i liked it, i cooked up some choppe up chicken and made some chicken sandwiches with it.... now ribs are cooking and i'm gonna do those with the sauce....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Slidell, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This is a really good sauce. I made it just as described, except I used a bit of cayenne pepper instead of tabasco (no tabasco sauce in this house!). I am really looking forward to having it tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Darn good--won't be buying sauce in ajar anymore when I can make as much BBQ sauce as I want as long as I have Ketchup on hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste Holda Lux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Very good and easy to make! I ended up using Rice wine vinegar because that's what I had and it was still delicious. I think you could experiment with using different vinegars if you wanted to. I think this is a good all around bbq sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napoleon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I have a pork shoulder in the Crockpot headed towards pulled pork. I wanted a special barbecue sauce. This is an excellent basic recipe - all the important elements are there. I did tweak it a little and it is AMAZING! I used a little less worcestershire sauce, fresh minced garlic instead of granulated, used Sriracha instead of Tabasco and added some onion powder and two bay leaves. THEN, I added two tablespoons of Jack Daniels whiskey. I've decided to make a huge batch and keep it in the fridge. It is SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HopeLivzOn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA
Living In: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Really nice. Much less boring than the typical barbecue sauce. I prefer my bbq sauce on the spicier, less ketchup-y side of the scale, and this was just right. I started out making a small batch for a sandwhich, then tasted it, and wished I had made a lot more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Tasty. Bottled BBQ sauce usually has smoke flavoring, which is a no-no for people allergic to MSG. I forgot Worcestershire, but it turned out well anyway. To give smokiness I subbed chipotle pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Very nice barbecue sauce. Not too sweet. I used fresh garlic instead of dry because that is what I had. I grilled some baby back ribs and basted them generously with this sauce and it was ONO. Thanks for sharing Havicc Brine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Chef John's Mayo Method Steak Sauce

Discover the formula for delicious, last-minute steak sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States