Zing-a-Ding-Ding Spaghetti with Albacore Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I made this recipe because I happened to have all the ingredients on hand and was in a pinch to make dinner. Overall, I wasn't too impressed. It wasn't bad....it's just that the individual flavors didn't combine well in the dish. Probably won't make this again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This was good! I have been to authentic Italian restuarants and had chunks of salmon in a tomato sauce. This was along those lines. I did not use the exact amounts listed in this recipe, but "eyeballed it" and adjusted where I though appropriate. I definitely did not use that much olive oil. Probably only 2 Tbsp. I also used only one can of albacore tuna, and I think the kind I used was key. I bought the BumbleBee Prime Fillet albacore tuna for the first time and it was so much better than regular albacore tuna! Not fishy or oily at all. I was pleasantly surprised. I used petite diced tomatoes instead of stewed tomatoes. I also used a little less oregano and seasoned with salt and pepper. I am surprised she left salt and pepper out of the recipe. I also did not add the Parmesan cheese. Next time I may experiment by adding peas or capers. Portion-wise, it only made two servings because I like a lot of sauce with my pasta. Overall, this was a very quick and healthy weekday meal. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Ryskamp Wightman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I tried it and it didn't go so well with the roommates. It wasn't bad but it wasn't a hit either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I love this recipe! It's so quick, easy and delicious. You will definitely need the amount of oil that the recipe calls for. I also find it best to use a can of petite diced tomatoes, rather than stewed tomatoes. Also, the parmesan cheese definitely finishes it off nicely. This is a recipe I use regularly and my family loves it, especially my five year old! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Excellent. Added some frozen broccoli to the tuna sauce near the end, then tossed in cooked spaghetti. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I loved this recipe. I added cilantro for topping and substituted canned crab for the tuna and it turned out delicious! I plan to make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
The hub and I were a little leery of trying this recipe but since we had the ingredients on hand, we did. It was very good and though we thought the tuna might overpower the flavor, it was perfect. Served it with some crusty garlic bread and it was delicious! Will make again, and may try with crab as suggested on another review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janee'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Added canellini and only used one can of tuna. Used diced tomatoes. Pretty darn good for a meal when you are broke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JmeMcK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I followed the recipe quite closely although I sauted the onion by itself first. A tasty recipe but it might benefit from a touch of chili. If anyone tries chili please report back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I loved this sauce. I sauted garlic, onions, diced tomatoes, then added wine, 1 can tomato sauce, 2 pouches of white tuna and extra seasonings including salt and pepper. No cheese at all. This is a great recipe for Advent or Lent when you are fasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy's Kitchen
Home Town: Wintersville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States