Zinfandel Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I really liked it. Nice, tangy addition to our dinner salad. Easy to make too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Really enjoyed this dressing reminded me of one I had at a local Cuban restaurant. The salad it topped was comprised of mixed greens, navel orange sections, julienned jicama and toasted pumpkin seeds, yummy! Couldn't afford the 40 yr old sherry vinegar, but I'm sure it would be fabulous with it. After I refrigerated it overnight, I did feel it needed the Dijon mustard for kick, so I added 2 tsp and that was just enough. Thank you Marbalet for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
Kind of standard but better with the dijon; didn't care for the parsley addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This was good. Pretty standard, really. I didn't have any sherry wine vinegar, so I used 3 parts tarragon vinegar and one part balsamic. I used it on a salad very shortly after making this, but it definitely tasted better the next morning. Will make again the next time I have shallots and a salad in need of dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
i used red wine vinegar for this and used it in another pasta salad recipe i found that i needed a red wine dressing for. when i tasted this i thought the basil was a little brave with this and would cut it down next time. other than that solid recipe really and the measurements ( with the exception of the basil) are pretty right on. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This is a nice dressing, and I bet that it would be really good with an aged sherry vinegar! It could have used the Dijon for sure, and I wish I'd thought to put some feta cheese on these tomatoes before snapping the photo. I did cut the oil to 1/2 cup because I like the zest of vinegar in my salads. I am puzzled as to why this is called Zinfandel! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I don't think it is an unreasonable gripe that since this recipe has nothing to do with Zinfandel, which is a variety of red grape, that it is not only misleading but incorrect to call this "Zinfandel Vinaigrette." That said, I did like the 3:1 ratio of olive oil to vinegar, but the parsley and basil combo did not appeal to me. I substituted fresh dill and did add the optional Dijon. This was a good, but fairly average HERB Vinaigrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
This was OK, it was pretty average. I don't know too many people who would use 40 year old sherry for a salad dressing. It's not exactly cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Chef John's Arugula Pesto

See how to make pesto with peppery, full-flavored arugula instead of basil.

How to Make Easy Homemade Pizza Dough

Watch Chef John make super-easy no-knead pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States