Zinfandel Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Too much soy sauce!! The first time I made this, I used 3/4 cup of Kikkoman's regular, and it was still overly salty (and I like salt). I would recommend using 1/4 - 1/2 cup, tasting as you add. Once the salty soy is reduced, this sauce is excellent, especially over meatballs as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
If I could give this ten stars I would. I have just made this recipe with two minor additions, I added a few dashes of tobasco and as another reviewer has done I added a dash of vinegar. This is absolutely fantastic and I seriously doubt I will purchase store bought barbeque again. It is fantastic with pork, chicken and steak. Thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
I finally got around to trying this and could kick myself that it took me so long to make this incredible sauce. Like the previous reviewer stated: This is the perfect balance of flavors. Loved how the fruitiness from the wine prevailed (used a St. Helena Zin). Great with pork tenderloin and I will try using this with frozen meatballs from Sam's Club as well. Really that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
This recipe was absolutely awesome! Very flavorful tasting. Served it as a barbeque over beef and it was delicious. This is a keeper folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELECOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I would have rated it a 5, but the soy sauce made it WAY too salty. In the future, I will probably use a mix of half soy sauce, half water. Otherwise, it was really tasty, unique, and definitely NOT your typical BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cboz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Loved the flavors in this sauce. I opted to reduce the soy to 1/2 cup and was glad I did. I also needed to add a sprinkle more brown sugar to take away some of the saltiness from the soy. I think it's all in personal preferences but it would be a good idea to use less b/c you can always add more if you would like! My husband loved it. I grilled bone-in chicken ( yes, w/ skin!) for about 10 minutes and then placed in a 9 x13 & poured the sauce over each piece and covered with foil. I baked it at 375 until the pieces were done- approximately 25-30 minutes. I think this would also be great over pulled pork. A gourmet sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Sauce was very tasty, but the soy sauce needs to be reduced. It was really fruity from the wine. I like mustard, so the amount in this recipe was fine for me, but my roommate doesnt like it so she reduced it by half the second time we made it and it turned out much more to her liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nelson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Excellent sauce. I was out of soy sauce so I substituted 3/4 cup worsteshire and it was fantabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This is good,it's definately different than any other barbeque sauce I've ever had, but still very good. I added about 2 Tbsp vinegar b/c I like a tang. Hubby added (behind my back) 4 shakes of Tobasco. He said it could use more. He is our barbeque chef, so, I let him pick the star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MindyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This one is a keeper. Intense, dramatic flavor; everyone liked it. I read the comments and added only about 2/3 the soy sauce the recipe called for. I'm glad; it could not have used any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prairiefire

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States