Zimbabwean Chicken and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Delicious! I made for my book club after reading the the book The Elephant Whisperer by Lawrence Anthony. Served it over brown rice as a hearty main dish. An apertif of Elephant wash water or African Amarula liquor and we had a wonderful meal. Followed receipe exactly, but would add more jalapeno next time. My husband wants me to make it again and keep the receipe handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
My family of 10 enjoyed this very much. Hubby said he'd order it in a restaurant. I did make modifications to use ingredients on hand (also it's -60 wind chill right now, so I'm not running to the store). For veggies I added carrots, sweet potato, and spinach. Also included a few cloves of garlic with the onion and a splash of soy sauce. I only had a big can of crushed tomatoes, instead of diced, worked great. No veg. stock, just used water. Will make again and try to add more original veggies next time. Great, hardy soup, enjoy with loaf of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I subbed in baked tofu marinated in lemon and a spicy rub (instead of chicken) and collard greens (for the okra). I will definitely be making this again and will look for okra in the frozen veggies aisle. I loved every sweet & spicy bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
An amazing soup. I plan on making it without chicken for my meatless days, and I bet quinoa would do just fine. I never would have made a recipe with this particular combination of ingredients and lack of herbs and spices, but the previous reviewers convinced me to try it and I am glad I did. It will be a regular in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
this was not pleasant! yikes! I could barely eat this, and just forced myself to do so. I don't know what everyone is talking about--the peanut butter flavor was completely obvious. My husband who had no idea of what was in it, was able to call it out immediately. Don't try the peanut butter soup unless you LOVE peanut butter!! (liking peanut butter is not enough to enjoy this!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhusgen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This was very tasty and savory! You can make it a lot quicker by adding pre-cooked sweet potato and/or carrots at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Delicious. My picky girlfriend had seconds. I added more red pepper and some black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
The best soup ever. Omitted the okra . Every time I have tried to use it it comes out slimy. Any suggestions would be great. Thanks. This soup makes me smile
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
We both liked this, and I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caratime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This soup is delicious, hearty, and healthy. The peanut butter is not overpowering at all, but just a light flavor that adds so much. I did feel it needed a touch of something, so I did increase the pepper flakes, added a couple cloves of garlic, and about a 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. It smelled amazing on the stove and this was a very good soup for a chilly fall night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States