Zimbabwean Chicken and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Delicious. My picky girlfriend had seconds. I added more red pepper and some black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I subbed in baked tofu marinated in lemon and a spicy rub (instead of chicken) and collard greens (for the okra). I will definitely be making this again and will look for okra in the frozen veggies aisle. I loved every sweet & spicy bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
My curiosity lead me to whip this Zimbabwean soup & glad it did. Loved it, can't describe the taste but it was amazingly different from the norm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I made this a couple nights ago, and have been eating it for lunch and dinner since! It's a wonderful, hearty soup - enough for a full meal. I didn't use the carrot (no good ones at the store) or the okra (not a fan). But, I didn't change anything else. The peanut butter gives the soup fantastic flavor, and I love being able to use some of my turnips in it! Since I like things spicy, next time I may add a fresh, diced jalapeno. But, the recipe needs no alterations as it is. I'll definitely be making it Again. Thanks, Mary, for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mary
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I love this soup and usually kick up the spice a bit by adding at least 1/2 to 1 tsp of the red pepper flakes. You can adjust the pepper flakes to your desired spice level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Very, very good. It doesn't even taste like peanut butter is in the soup, but you know that there is some sort of nice seasoning in it. There were literally NO leftovers and we are all picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This is a different soup (in a very good and healthy way)... My family loved it!! Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Super yummy...very different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
The best soup ever. Omitted the okra . Every time I have tried to use it it comes out slimy. Any suggestions would be great. Thanks. This soup makes me smile
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
An amazing soup. I plan on making it without chicken for my meatless days, and I bet quinoa would do just fine. I never would have made a recipe with this particular combination of ingredients and lack of herbs and spices, but the previous reviewers convinced me to try it and I am glad I did. It will be a regular in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States