Zimbabwean Chicken and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mary
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I love this soup and usually kick up the spice a bit by adding at least 1/2 to 1 tsp of the red pepper flakes. You can adjust the pepper flakes to your desired spice level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I didn't have a turnip but otherwise made as written. It's a combination of vegetables I haven't seen together before, and they mesh well. I enjoy the way the peanut butter thickens the liquid a little bit. I prefer things a bit spicier, so I served mine with hot sauce added at the table. I am tempted to try it in the slow cooker, as it did take a bit long for a weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I made this a couple nights ago, and have been eating it for lunch and dinner since! It's a wonderful, hearty soup - enough for a full meal. I didn't use the carrot (no good ones at the store) or the okra (not a fan). But, I didn't change anything else. The peanut butter gives the soup fantastic flavor, and I love being able to use some of my turnips in it! Since I like things spicy, next time I may add a fresh, diced jalapeno. But, the recipe needs no alterations as it is. I'll definitely be making it Again. Thanks, Mary, for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
My curiosity lead me to whip this Zimbabwean soup & glad it did. Loved it, can't describe the taste but it was amazingly different from the norm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This is an awesome as well as healthy recipe. Will make again and again. As with other reviewers, the lack of spices demanded tweaking. I tripled the red pepper, added cumin and parsley (or oregano) and doubled the chicken for a higher protein content. The sweet potatoes made me itch, so the next time I simply substituted butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
It turned out good. Our recipe was very thick and we ended up using more vegetable stock than called for in the recipe. We omitted the red pepper flakes because it would've been too much for our children. I used leeks instead of onions because I like leeks better for soups. The flavor of the soup was good and worked great for our South African dinner theme for the evening. I loved the assortment of vegetables in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EdieO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I love trying new recipes that have unique ingredient combinations. I love it even more when it exceeds all expectations. The peanut butter blends very well with the vegetable broth giving it an added depth of flavor that warms the soul. I didn’t have a turnip, so I added a potato. I also tossed in a partially opened can of Rotel tomatoes, but other than that, I stuck to the recipe. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Very, very good. It doesn't even taste like peanut butter is in the soup, but you know that there is some sort of nice seasoning in it. There were literally NO leftovers and we are all picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
this was not pleasant! yikes! I could barely eat this, and just forced myself to do so. I don't know what everyone is talking about--the peanut butter flavor was completely obvious. My husband who had no idea of what was in it, was able to call it out immediately. Don't try the peanut butter soup unless you LOVE peanut butter!! (liking peanut butter is not enough to enjoy this!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhusgen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This soup is delicious, hearty, and healthy. The peanut butter is not overpowering at all, but just a light flavor that adds so much. I did feel it needed a touch of something, so I did increase the pepper flakes, added a couple cloves of garlic, and about a 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. It smelled amazing on the stove and this was a very good soup for a chilly fall night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States