Zesty Zucchini and Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I was very surprised about how good this was. Like others, I have WAY too much zucchini on my hands, and thought this sounded like an easy side dish for enchiladas (and healthier than rice and beans). I cubed the zucchini as instructed, did not use any squash, and used diced tomatoes with jalapenos, rather than green chilis. It was a little too spicy, but still really very good. Otherwise, I followed the instructions and was plesantly surprised! I will definitely be making this again soon. Thank you Loracus!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I have been making this for years and love it! There are a variety of ways to use it and to mix it up a bit as well. I use fresh tomatoes when in season and add canned chopped green chilies (you may need to drain some of the tomato juices if it is going to be too thin). You have to be careful with green chilies if you are heat sensitive, I am not. But if you are, start with approximately 1 heaping T. chilies to 3 large fresh tomatoes (or 1 16 oz can). I also use fresh basil and thyme (2 large basil leaves and large sprig of thyme, leave it whole, cook, then remove prior to eating or chop and leave in the dish). When using the herbs, it is okay to omit the chilies, but I use the herbs with the chilies and love this flavor combination. This also makes a good pasta sauce (leave all your tomato juices in), top it with fresh parmesan cheese...love it! Sometimes I omit the green chilies and add black olives when using it as a pasta sauce, delicious too. Use your imagination, this dish can be varied to suit your taste. To novice cooks: I grow my own herbs, so I am always experimenting. I live in an apartment and grow them and veggies on my deck in the summer. In the winter I have a small herb garden in front of my sliding door. Herbs are easy, easy to grow! You can have a small herb garden in any window in your home year round. It is far less expensive than buying them in the grocery store and SO much better than the dried herbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This was soooo great, even though I messed it up royally (hence my name)... It came out marvelous and my boyfriend LOVED. Thank goodness when I messed it up, I stumbled onto an amazing vegetable base to be used as soup/stew stock and will be versatile enough for seafood, chicken or beef. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Really good - I actually added a four ounce can of green chiles because we like it spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I used Italian seasoned diced tomatoes, mushrooms, zuchhini, and yellow squash. I did not use any oil at all...just simmered it all in the juice from the can of diced tomatoes. Added some salt and pepper, and it was delicious and healthy. You could add some freshly grated parm and make it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
this was a delicious healthy snack.... i was just wondering what i could make this with to make it a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I ate this just about everyday this summer. It is too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
This is a great recipe! It didn’t seem too spicy to me. The green chilies added that nice little kick. I also sautéed the onions and some garlic in the pan just until the onions started to turn translucent before I added everything else in. My boyfriend loved it and I’m sure I’ll be making it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Artesia, New Mexico, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Awesome veggie side dish. The chiles in the tomatoes gives this a great surge of heat and flavor - I loved the addition of the garlic powder. Super easy and really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Yum! I added chopped serrano pepper for even for kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States