Zesty Zucchini and Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I had higher hopes for this side, and feel let down. I can't say I'm a big fan of boiling summer squash. Next time I think I'll grill the squash for 10 minutes on the grill and cook the tomato/onion as directed and combine together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I love this recipe! They served something just like it at Little America's cafe and we always ordered it. I cut my squash and zucchini diff thicknesses from really thin to about 1/4" thick, it gives each bite a little diff flavor. I saute all the veggies in a little bit of butter until browned, it really changes the taste. Then add the diced tomatoes and let boil for maybe 10 min. Great reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar Hills, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
i made this for my family and EVERYONE loved it! it had a little spice and a great taste! I will use this everytime i make squash/zucchini now. Definately a new staple in my home. I sauteed some fresh minced garlic in the pan before i added the veggies instead of that powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I thought this was very flavorless. Definitely had to add some spices. Probably won't make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeutscheKoechin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marburg, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
AWESOME! The only thing i did different was i used minced garlic (about 2 small cloves).. reheated well the next day, mixed in some linguini noodles for a type of pasta primevera!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
wow that was good. I am single so there is a lot leftover. I had it as my main meal tonight. I used more garlic powder because I love garlic. I love zucchini, but sometimes have issues with the texture of yellow squash I wrapped up some of it in a spinach tortilla and it made a great filling dinner. I think I might try to scramble some of the leftover in with a couple of eggs in the morning really yummy. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Excellent taste! I also added a tiny pinch of Stevia (about 1/4 packet) for a little more sweetness with no added calories. Also I will try adding some tomato paste or sauce if I want to use over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I really like the idea of adding the rotel to sweet, mild zucchini and squash... it went really well together. I actually sauteed the onion in about a tsp of olive oil before adding everything else to the pot. Then after the veggies were almost done, I poured everything into a baking dish, mixed in some parmesan cheese and then topped it with a little parmesan and some italian panko crumbs and broiled it for 3-4 mins, which added a nice texture. It was great with turkey quinoa meatloaf and spruced up mashed potatoes/cauliflower!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Great dish! I kept the base recipe the same and followed other suggestions. Sauteed onion and 3 cloves of garlic then added the squash and zucchini, some red pepper, and a can of Rotel tomato and green chiles (drain 1/4 of can). Due to the portion, I cooked it in a wok while making kabobs. It was a great overlap to put together the kabobs and use the excess veggies. I ended up making rice to go with the leftovers. I would plan to make rice as a side. The squash and zucchini cooks down so drain the Rotel 1/4 total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLIFFCOFFMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This was ok. I think I would prefer to just have the Zucchini and squash cook with butter in a pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States