Zesty White Wine Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carol
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Probably added more black pepper & a little TOBASCO green pepper sauce / we like spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Loved it! Quick, easy, and uses ingredients on hand. I love canned green beans and this recipe made them palatable to my picky BF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Blah. Perfectly good glass of wine wasted on this recipe. I'll stick to using only fresh green beans and keeping wine out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TNAmber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Loved the taste - nice blend of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I used pepper, no salt. I used 3/4 lb fresh, and about 3/4 cup white wine (moscat I think). I also spritzed some lemon on at the end, as other reviewers suggested. They were okay. The guests enjoyed them, my husband and I were so-so and feel like we like some other recipes on this site better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I never, ever use canned green beans so I used steam in bag of whole green beans gave them a drizzle of olive oil, tossed them with the minced garlic, salt & pepper. Then instead of the white wine reduction just gave them a generous splash of white wine vinegar - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
No one in my family liked this at all. Simmering this until the wine sauce reduces just made the beans like mush. I tried again using fresh beans and those turned way to soft and soggy. The flavor didn't compliment the veg like I thought it would either. I do think that there has to be a way to turn this into something that I like but I just haven't found it yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckinfun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strafford, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mount Olive, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
We don't like canned vegetables but this is a great recipe. Now keep canned green beans in pantry and make this recipe often, for ourselves and guests. Have taken it to a pot-luck dinner and it disappeared quickly. Quick and easy. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I only had garlic powder and regular green beans, so I substituted those in. I also used canola oil instead of olive and it seemed to work fine (need to go to the grocery store lol) I also added a pinch of sugar because it smelled very strongly and I think it contrasts nicely. Tasted great! Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeteransGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I tried this recipe and all I know is that I will never do this with canned green beans again. My family was very upset with my x-mas dinner. I will try this with fresh green beans when I can go around my family again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States