Zesty White Wine Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I used fresh green beans from my garden for this. It was a great recipe, but next time I may add some of the dill from my garden also for that something extra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was very good. I used a frozen vegetable mix that included green beans, sugar snap peas, broccoli, yellow squash and water chestnuts. I used a semi dry peach chardonnay for the wine. When the vegetables were cooked as much as I wanted, I removed them with a slotted spoon, poured the remaining liquid into a smaller saucepan, and cooked it until it reduced. Then I poured the sauce over the veggies. A healthy, tasty way to enjoy vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I never, ever use canned green beans so I used steam in bag of whole green beans gave them a drizzle of olive oil, tossed them with the minced garlic, salt & pepper. Then instead of the white wine reduction just gave them a generous splash of white wine vinegar - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
My original review is missing, so I am leaving another one. I made these using frozen green beans and will use fresh next time. I finished this off with a few shakes of lemon pepper seasoning for some zest, which seemed to compliment the wine flavor very well. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Delicious! I serve this to dinner guests all the time now. But I only use fresh beans and very little oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Marmaduke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I used frozen green beans and sauvigion blanc. Next time I think I would use less than a cup of wine or perhaps more beans they were quite drenched in wine. Overall very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta's Recipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
We absolutely Love this recipe!! So easy and it tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Blah. Perfectly good glass of wine wasted on this recipe. I'll stick to using only fresh green beans and keeping wine out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TNAmber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CNM CATERING
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
i used fresh green beans. i thought they had a nice flavor but my wife and kids didnt care for them. thanks for something different besides butter , salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I followed the recipe as written except for using fresh beans instead of canned. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States