Zesty Tortilla Roll Ups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Overall this recipe was great and I got many compliments. I did not use a whole pound of bacon, instead I used about half. I also used 1/3 less fat cream cheese (Neufchatel) and nobody noticed a difference! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
These were delicious! I did spinach wraps instead of regular and added more pesto, as the recipe barely called for any. I also added more tomatoes and chopped them finely and sprinkled them over the turkey slices before rolling. They were definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I made these for Recipe Group. Easy to put together, and very tasty! I used some roasted red pepper instead of tomato. The bacon came through as a really strong flavor. I'm going to taste test again when the cream cheese mixture has sat for a bit and see how they are then. I would use more pesto the next time, no bacon drippings, and I think they would be fine without the added turkey in there also as a quick appetizer. Would be very easy to change this up with adding almost any seasonings. Nice recipe, thanks Windy! The flavor does develop more after sitting. The guys went crazy over these and I couldn't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
these were very good, I only made a 1/2 recipe to try them. I fried the bacon and put them together in the morning. I left them in the fridge for the next day for lunch boxes. The flavour was very good. Very versatile recipe-could change up with ham, roasted pepper and galic-let your imagination run. Great quick appetizer idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
great! however, if you buy the whipped cream cheese it makes it much easier to spread and cuts down on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Served these for a holiday party (very festive w/ spinach wraps & a little more tomato!) ~ I used 1/3 fat CC, & less bacon drippings.) Made the CC mixture a day ahead, did the rolling the morning of, & chilled them until slicing just prior to plating. They were gobbled quickly, but the general consensus was that the pesto overwhelmed the bacon & tomato ~ no biggie! Looking forward to making these again w/ a different combo of fillings ~ thx Windy B.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I made this recipe to the T, and it turned out FABULOUS! I would suggest leaving about two inches on the end you are rolling towards without any toppings, otherwise the filling will smoosh off the edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari2mila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
These were just "ok" for us. The tortilla flavor was dominate, instead of the filling. I did not use the bacon drippings. Cold, solid grease did not sound appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Very Good. I did make two changes since I was only making 1 wrap, I used onion and chive cream cheese rather than making up flavored cream cheese. I really enjoyed this wrap, it had a nice flavor. My other change was that I used low carb tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Not bad! Next time I'd add fresh spinach and more tomato. I used 6 inch tortillas but otherwise followed this to the letter. The pesto wasn't overwhelming at all but added a nice flavor and I might use more next time. The bacon (and the grease) was great.. not greasy or gross. :) Yum! Oh and this filled a 9x13 pan with standing sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States