Zesty Tomato Soup for One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Very good and easy to make. I wonder though if a lot of those indicating a lack in flavor are using vine ripened tomatoes or off the shelf store tomatoes. With so few ingredients I find the quality of the ingredients to be a prime factor in the finished result. In particular when making fresh tomato recipes. Store tomatoes just won't work no matter what you add if the flavor isn't there to begin with. I did add garlic because, well I like garlic in everything. I also added a bit of olive oil and some dried basil leaves. Fresh would have been better but I don't have any on hand. I also added Sherry because Sherry wine(not cooking wine) goes well in most tomato based recipes I find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendota, Illinois, USA
Living In: Centralia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
So simple and so good that it leaves you asking yourself "Why didn't I think of that"? I turned this into tomato soup for two and kept the amount of onion at 1/4 vidalia onion. I opted to use low sodium V8 and added some garlic, fresh basil, and a splash of white wine vinegar. A great base for add-in's to suite your tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I love the idea. I do almost the same but I use fresh tomatoes about 40 medium tomatoes. (we have a garden and lots of tomatoes) 2 beef boullion cubes and 2 onions quartered. I do not add any liquid, or do I peal the tomatoes just quarter them. Put them in a pot and simmer about 2 hours, then put everything in blender and then strain. Freeze in small batches when hungary you just take out what you need. My husband likes a little 1/2 and 1/2 added to his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This was really yummy! I sauteed the onions in a bit of olive oil first in the pan. I added about 4 medium tomatoes and 1 can of V8. I also added a clove of minced garlic, 1 tsp each of sugar, oregano & basil. I cooked it for about 15 minute and then blended it in the pot with my immersion blender. This came out to two giant bowls of soup. What a great way to use up garden tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I'm so glad I tried this recipe... simple to make, fresh tasting and yummy! I used a 12-oz can of V-8, one whole tomato, some minced garlic and a teaspoon of sugar. I plan to use this recipe often, and blend in whatever veggies I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This was fantastic and so easy! I added garlic, dried basil, and some cream. I also used spicy V8 which gave it a great kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I give this recipe three stars for ease of preparation. I doubled the recipe; put all of the ingredients in my Vitamix and I had piping hot soup in six minutes. As for taste, it is sorely missing something. I added some basil but even that didn’t help. Probably won’t be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Absolutely delightful! So much better tasting than the canned stuff, which is loaded with sugar, starch, and salt. I disagree with those who found it flavorless or bland. This is a celebration of the simple, glorious flavor of burstingly ripe tomatoes, period. Very low in calories and naturally fat free. Heart-healthy stuff, with a nice dose of lycopene and vitamin C galore! The second time I made this, I put in a dab, about 1/2 tsp, of Minor's chicken base, which couldn't be tasted exactly, but which lent a nice depth of flavor, and salted it just right. Additionally, I like to peel and seed the tomatoes before I blend them, as I find both to be a detraction. What you taste is exactly what you get, uncomplicated and wholesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This is a good idea but lacks flavor. I think adding some garlic with a bit of olive oil to start and some Italian seasonings might help it a lot. It is easy and fast. I used my mini food processor for the onion and tomato and then as I was cooking it occurred to me that I could use an immersion hand blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Wonderful! Easy to make and tastes great. The only thing I did different was add garlic as others had recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sagemoon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States