Zesty Tilapia with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
I used regular fresh brown mushrooms, but other than that I followed the recipe ingredients and directions. The dish turned out better than I expected. Remember to trim the red lateral line meat out of the fillet and trim all silvery stuff off of the fish too. These are the parts of the fish that will give the meal an "off" or "fishy" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Awesome flavor! I substituted about 1 lb. sautéed mushrooms for half the porcini & used olive oil instead of butter. I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
I loved the idea of this recipe. I gave it 5* even though I had to make some changes it was still pretty good. I cooked 8 oz. fresh white mushrooms in some butter and then added 1 1/2 lbs. tilapia. I added more butter to fish. I didn't have lemon zest or green onion and it was still tasty. I also used coarse sea salt instead of kosher. I will try to add the zest next time, I bet it gives it a nice zing! We loved the lime flavor and I would increase that the next time to accomodate the larger amout of fish. This was so fast and easy especially after a long day at work! Thanks BGP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
This is a great recipe. I used regular white mushrooms and sauted them in butter, olive oil and fresh garlic before adding the fish. I let the mushrooms cook until they were almost carmalized. Very simple and elegant. Great with roasted red potatoes. Will definately make this again and will try different varities of mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
Really good, quick and easy. Like others I made changes based upon what I had on hand. What I did: Sauteed green onions with a box of fresh sliced white mushrooms in 1 1/2 T Magarine and set aside. Used 4 defrosted tilapia fillets (from Sam's Club)1 1/2 T more of margarine, salted, peppered, zest per recipe, but used 1/4 c bottled lime juice. Added mushrooms back in after turning fish. Served with garlic butter rice (Uncle Ben's!) and fresh brussel sprouts. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
Mmmm mmmm good. I thought my husband was going to start drooling.. we both loved this. The only thing I changed was that I used baby portabella mushrooms instead of porcini. When I was cooking, I didn't think it really needed mushrooms and onions added to it, but they were a WONDERFUL addition! They went really well with the fish. The pepper, lemon zest, and lime juice really gave this a nice spicy zing. I didn't expect it to be quite so spicy, in fact, but I loved it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
Great recipe! I just used "regular" mushrooms, and sauteed them. Also, next time I will probably omit the green onions as I generally don't care for them. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
This was excellent. It took 15 minutes from start to cleanup! I used fresh normal mushrooms instead of the porcini's which I first sauteed in garlic and olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
This is an excellent dish, and easily applicable to other types of mild-flavored fish. Our grocer didn't have tilapia the day I decided to try this recipe out, so I bought flounder instead, and used baby portabella mushrooms (I couldn't locate porcini, either). It was still wonderful, and my family loved it - I think that the sauce is the key, the right amounts of butter and lime combined with a hint of lemon and the mild bite of the green onions. Try it, you will NOT be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
This was a wonderful and very easy recipe. My husband loved it, although he wasn't wild about the porcini mushrooms. Next time I will saute regular button mushrooms and use them instead. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

How to Cook Tilapia

See how to cook this mild, versatile, and inexpensive white fish.

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States