Zesty Tilapia with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Awesome flavor! I substituted about 1 lb. sautéed mushrooms for half the porcini & used olive oil instead of butter. I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
Based on all the rave reviews, I was really shocked and disappointed at how this dish turned out. My husband and I followed all the directions except we did not have scallions, but scallions would not have saved this dish. This dish is just *way* too sour! It was unedible. Even after we tried to "fix" it, it still tasted like Key Lime Fish. So unless you really, really love lime, use maybe 1/4 the amount of lime juice that is specified in the recipe. You can always add more if it's not enough for your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
I used regular fresh brown mushrooms, but other than that I followed the recipe ingredients and directions. The dish turned out better than I expected. Remember to trim the red lateral line meat out of the fillet and trim all silvery stuff off of the fish too. These are the parts of the fish that will give the meal an "off" or "fishy" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
This is a great recipe. I used regular white mushrooms and sauted them in butter, olive oil and fresh garlic before adding the fish. I let the mushrooms cook until they were almost carmalized. Very simple and elegant. Great with roasted red potatoes. Will definately make this again and will try different varities of mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
What a perfect meal for a 90+ degree day! Light and refreshing. I used regular button mushrooms instead of porcini. Next time, I am going to add white wine and capers to the butter, lemon, lime sauce. Just for a little kick. I may also double the "sauce" since my fiance was practically licking his plate to get every last drop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
Really good, quick and easy. Like others I made changes based upon what I had on hand. What I did: Sauteed green onions with a box of fresh sliced white mushrooms in 1 1/2 T Magarine and set aside. Used 4 defrosted tilapia fillets (from Sam's Club)1 1/2 T more of margarine, salted, peppered, zest per recipe, but used 1/4 c bottled lime juice. Added mushrooms back in after turning fish. Served with garlic butter rice (Uncle Ben's!) and fresh brussel sprouts. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
I loved the idea of this recipe. I gave it 5* even though I had to make some changes it was still pretty good. I cooked 8 oz. fresh white mushrooms in some butter and then added 1 1/2 lbs. tilapia. I added more butter to fish. I didn't have lemon zest or green onion and it was still tasty. I also used coarse sea salt instead of kosher. I will try to add the zest next time, I bet it gives it a nice zing! We loved the lime flavor and I would increase that the next time to accomodate the larger amout of fish. This was so fast and easy especially after a long day at work! Thanks BGP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Very good! I substituted about 2 cups fresh portobella mushrooms for the dried porcini, and shallots for the scallions (just because these were the ingredients I had on hand). I cooked this in a large frying pan with a cover, so after the first side of the fish was done, I flipped it over, dumped the mushrooms in, and then put the cover on. This kind of steamed it all. IMO, this recipe only makes 2 servings, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I make this on a regular basis. I have made a few changes to the recipe. Since we love lemons, I replaced the limes with lemons, and I don't use the zest. I also use either canned or sliced fresh white mushrooms, and I experimented until I was happy with the amount of mushrooms and green onions I use, which is many more than called for, because we like the topping, and I also like to saute the onion and mushrooms in the pan 1st , then take them out of the pan and set them aside, and cook the fish, then re-top the fish after it's cooked. I serve the fish with Sante Fe Rice. It's a pre-cooked rice by ( I think ) Uncle Bens. Awesome meal! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
In a word INCREDIABLE!!! I made only a few changes, I decreased the lime from two to one, I used fresh mushrooms, and I added Emeril's Original Essence. It was awesome. I will make this again often. My family loved it. Thanks for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

How to Cook Tilapia

See how to cook this mild, versatile, and inexpensive white fish.

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States