Zesty Tilapia with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 7, 2007
My husband is not a fish fan, but loved this recipe! We cooked it on a smoker instead of a frying pan and without butter- to reduce fat and such. I used lemon juice and lime juice(the kind in the little bottles) and put the mushrooms in an aluminum packet right beside on the smoker. It took a little longer to cook, but I think it was worth it. Next time we are adding onions and garlic to the mushrooms. The best part is my husband and son loved it so much- they are both ready for seconds! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
A little too zesty for me! Definitely great for someone who doesn't like a fishy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Really enjoyed this recipe. I used shitake mushrooms that I had on hand. Poured the rehydrating liquid in the pan with the mushrooms. I also wilted in some fresh spinach at the very last. Served with wild rice blend and and apple for a very quick, delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Very good. I used canned mushrooms instead though. It tastes just like it sounds...like lemon zesty mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
I tried this recipe this evening and it was a SMASH!! My husband came in for a taste and finished a whole tilapia in a few minutes. I will definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
I love tilapia, I love porcini mushrooms, but this was not a good combination. The soft texture of the mushrooms and the fish turned me off. I read the other reviews prior to cooking, cut down the lime, and didn't even use any lemon zest, but I still thought the citrus was too strong and disagreed with the woody mushroom flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
I was a bit disappointed with this, but it's worth another try. I found it to be way too "zesty" so I would cut the lemon and lime in half (at least!) I ended up having to add more butter to offset the sour taste. The porcini mushrooms weren't that great for me, but I think any type of mushroom would work well. In all, it was very quick to make, and it's a very healthy dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I thought this recipe was good but it could've used a little less lemon & lime flavoring. I would have used 1 lime instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
Great flavor when made with baby portabellos, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Barrington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
What a perfect meal for a 90+ degree day! Light and refreshing. I used regular button mushrooms instead of porcini. Next time, I am going to add white wine and capers to the butter, lemon, lime sauce. Just for a little kick. I may also double the "sauce" since my fiance was practically licking his plate to get every last drop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

How to Cook Tilapia

See how to cook this mild, versatile, and inexpensive white fish.

Broiled Parmesan-Lemon Tilapia

Quick and easy tilapia fillets are broiled with a creamy Parmesan crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States