Zesty Taco Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
Very tasty. since I don't like cottage cheese, I substituted the cottage cheese with shredded cheddar cheese. I also added half a packet of taco seasoning to the rice. For the lovers of hot and spicy like me, I topped it with pickled jalpeno slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This is better as a dip because the corn chips get soggy. Next time I'll add more cheese, take out the corn chips, and add tortilla chips for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLBRICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I didn't have all the ingredients so I had to do some substitutions, but it still turned out well. I didn't have any vegetarian chili so I used a can of black beans. I also left out the corn chips all together and just served some tortilla chips on the side. A good staple of a recipe that can be played with and still have good results. It's a keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This was pretty good. I made it as written except I thought 7 oz. of green chilies were too many for my taste, so I used one 3.5 oz can instead. I also used a bigger can of corn. I was a bit scared because it really doesn't look appetizing, but I was pleasantly surprised. I ate it as a casserole, but I can see it would be good used as a filling for tortillas or with tortilla chips as a dip for a party. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
yummy basic recipe to use leftover rice and cans in your cupboard...I only had chilli oil and 2 cans of flavoured (hot) chilli beans and 1 can of tomato puree, so used these instead of garlic/salsa/chillies/veg chilli. Also used 3 green peppers, 1 red pepper and increased corn to make it more veggie-laden. Added an egg to bind it. And to make it healthier I crushed up Corn Thins instead of corn chips (if you've never had them search for them! they're popular here in New Zealand/Australia and are like rice cakes but thinner, tastier, more fiber, baked and made from corn, yum! you can find where they're sold in the USA/elsewhere http://www.cornthins.com/) served as a casserole w/ chopped tomatoes on side. will make this recipe again, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was easy, but had too much cumin and chili powder. I will make it again, but with less spice and more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary F

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I question the ingredients of 3 TBSP of chili powder and cumin. The spices were overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Heads up this calls for way too much chili powder. I would say use only about 1/2 of what it says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
LOVE this dish. Last time I made it I added less chili powder but this time I forgot to heed the warnings of others and it was not good. Three T was way too much and I like spicy but that amount killed all the other flavors. This is a great dish to use up any left over homemade chili, I dont like the canned stuff so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
This was great! I made it almost exactly as the recipe indicated-I am not a huge cottage cheese fan so used 1/2 cottage cheese and 1/2 cheddar cheese instead. I made this about a month ago and it made a HUGE amount of food so I froze half of it before topping with the cheese and chips. We just ate it last night and it freezes really well! I served it with with tortillas, sliced avocados, and sour cream and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States