Zesty Taco Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
Very tasty. since I don't like cottage cheese, I substituted the cottage cheese with shredded cheddar cheese. I also added half a packet of taco seasoning to the rice. For the lovers of hot and spicy like me, I topped it with pickled jalpeno slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This is better as a dip because the corn chips get soggy. Next time I'll add more cheese, take out the corn chips, and add tortilla chips for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLBRICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I didn't have all the ingredients so I had to do some substitutions, but it still turned out well. I didn't have any vegetarian chili so I used a can of black beans. I also left out the corn chips all together and just served some tortilla chips on the side. A good staple of a recipe that can be played with and still have good results. It's a keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This was pretty good. I made it as written except I thought 7 oz. of green chilies were too many for my taste, so I used one 3.5 oz can instead. I also used a bigger can of corn. I was a bit scared because it really doesn't look appetizing, but I was pleasantly surprised. I ate it as a casserole, but I can see it would be good used as a filling for tortillas or with tortilla chips as a dip for a party. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
yummy basic recipe to use leftover rice and cans in your cupboard...I only had chilli oil and 2 cans of flavoured (hot) chilli beans and 1 can of tomato puree, so used these instead of garlic/salsa/chillies/veg chilli. Also used 3 green peppers, 1 red pepper and increased corn to make it more veggie-laden. Added an egg to bind it. And to make it healthier I crushed up Corn Thins instead of corn chips (if you've never had them search for them! they're popular here in New Zealand/Australia and are like rice cakes but thinner, tastier, more fiber, baked and made from corn, yum! you can find where they're sold in the USA/elsewhere http://www.cornthins.com/) served as a casserole w/ chopped tomatoes on side. will make this recipe again, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was easy, but had too much cumin and chili powder. I will make it again, but with less spice and more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary F

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I question the ingredients of 3 TBSP of chili powder and cumin. The spices were overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Heads up this calls for way too much chili powder. I would say use only about 1/2 of what it says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
LOVE this dish. Last time I made it I added less chili powder but this time I forgot to heed the warnings of others and it was not good. Three T was way too much and I like spicy but that amount killed all the other flavors. This is a great dish to use up any left over homemade chili, I dont like the canned stuff so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
This was great! I made it almost exactly as the recipe indicated-I am not a huge cottage cheese fan so used 1/2 cottage cheese and 1/2 cheddar cheese instead. I made this about a month ago and it made a HUGE amount of food so I froze half of it before topping with the cheese and chips. We just ate it last night and it freezes really well! I served it with with tortillas, sliced avocados, and sour cream and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States