Zesty Summer Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This was very easy and tasty. I used a large jalapeño pepper since that is what I had on hand. I ended up marinating the chicken for two days only due to life circumstances. I was afraid the spice would be to strong but it was still nice and mild. Then cooked in oven. I think next time I might add a bit of cocoanut milk to the sauce. Otherwise my husband said this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I thought it excellent. However I agree that there is very little juice to make the sauce. I had to add water to stop it from becoming a "goo". I did simmer it ( to cook the garlic, ginger and zest) a little, before adding the cornflour. My neighbour thought it delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Someone said they couldn't find ground coriander, so they added cilantro. It's the same thing. Cilantro grows from coriander seeds, it's the leaf of the coriander plant. As someone else said, not enough sauce. I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Following the advice of others I used 2T soy sauce and added 1/4c water. I also used 1 tsp of cornstarch to thicken marinade in a small saucepan rather than skillet. The spicy lime flavor really came through and was an interesting chance of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
My family enjoys this recipe. I use boneless skinless breat, marinate it overnight, and cook it on the gas grill. Yum! TY for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Marion, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I tweaked this recipe to fit my liking, while still using the same ingredients recommended. The flavours I definitely wanted to make sure I could taste was the saltiness of the soy sauce, the tang of the lime, and the spicy-ness of the jalapenos - therefore, I doubled and tripled the amounts recommended. Had a nice mix, and thought it tasted quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam84jo
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
After reading the other reviews for this recipe I was very skeptical about it. I did not have nor could I find coriander so the recipe went without. I used real garlic, Veggie Oil, and ground ginger and added cilantro. Altogether, I would have to say this really wasn't "Zesty." In fact it was more like a homemade teriaky sauce. It was good. I made some Cilantro-Lime Rice to go with the chicken and sauce. O, and I grilled the chicken which I really can't imagine it otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I reduced the soy by 1/2, and slightly increased the lime juice to taste. For personal preference I used bone in chicken. It tasted okay. THX.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I'm not sure what to say about this one. I did make several changes because I thought I had everything to make this except the limes and ended up in the kitchen with very few of the actual ingredients(having an off day apparently), so I did some subbing. I had lime juice but no zest, so I increased the lime juice. I didn't have the coriander, but since curry powder has coriander, I tossed that in instead. I had jarred spicy jalapenos so I just used them. I had skinless chicken breasts and didn't have sunflower oil so just used regular vegetable oil. I couldn't taste any lime, like another reviewer said--the soy sauce overwhelmed it and it just tasted like marinated chicken with soy sauce. Good, but I was hoping for more lime taste. The spicy jalapenos actually mellowed out in the marinade; they just made the sauce itself too spicy to really use as a gravy for the chicken. Bf loved it though; I made the recipe with the written serving sizes--6--and he ate 3 pieces of chicken (one with gravy). He liked the gravy as well, just complained it was too spicy. It was a very quick gravy to make, and thick and gooey. I marinated the chicken overnight. I guess I'm making it again, but I might increase the lime and decrease the soy sauce because I really was looking forward to a lime taste. N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I have mixed feelings about rating this recipe. The ingredients were good, and I was intrigued by the idea of using coriander, since I usually use it only in Indian- or African-inspired dishes. I increased the recipe by 50% - except for the soy, which I thought was a little too much. As I was reading the recipe I kept thinking "What sauce? How is this going to make a sauce?" I thought maybe there would be more juice from the chicken or something...Sure enough, when my chicken was done I was virtually sauceless, and ended up with a goo after I added the cornstarch. I added chicken broth until I had sauce consistancy - and even with that dilution I think there was too much soy. I strained the sauce because the bitty chunks in it didn't appeal to me. In the end, with my tweaks, I ended up with a pretty good dish. If I do decide to make this again, I'll forget about the sauce altogether, because the chicken really is fine on its own. If you want sauce, you'll need more liquid than provided. Sorry this is so long. N*R Thanks for your efforts simpson, I appreciate the chance to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States