Zesty Slow-Cooker Italian Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Great recipe!Very tasty, wasn't that sure about it because of the tomatoe soup but it was good.My roast was a little bigger than what they suggested so I added a little beef broth to the sauce and it ended up perfect, very tender and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamidee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This came out GREAT! I made a few tweaks, when my potatoes all had eyes growing from them! Did a sliced onion, and opened a jar of button mushrooms....but the sauce was fantastic...it did need salt, but this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
We have our kids and grandkids over every week for dinner. I wanted to try something different instead of the same old pot roast - they loved this. It reminded me of a thick veggie-beef soup. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victor, New York, USA
Living In: Shortsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This was a good recipe and cooking 10 hours on LOW was plenty, I used chuck and it cut with a fork like butter. The veggies were really good but the meat seemed to lack a bit of flavor. You definitely need to make a gravy out of the sauce to cover the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
We loved this! The meat was fork tender, and the sauce was flavorful. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy in Texas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I made this with a bag of frozen stew veggies - chunks of potatoes, carrots, celery, and onions. I used red wine vinegar. After 10 hours on low the roast was falling apart tender. It was very flavorful. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was pretty good. I used a can of diced fire roasted tomatoes, drained, instead of the fresh tomato and used beef stock instead of water. I thickened the sauce at the end to a thin gravy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corpman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I followed the last review and substituted diced tomatoes (drained) for the fresh tomato. I also used beef stock instead of water. It was a nice change. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was decent. The beef was kind of dry after cooking for about 10 hours, but the flavor was decent. Not my favorite pot roast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniellePaoli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Yum! I've made this twice and both times it has turnhed out great....I didn't have a fresh tomato, so I just opened a canned of fire-roasted diced...I used more spices than the recipe calls for, and also put in some diced onion and fresh mushrooms...I did it on high for 5-1/2 hours, and it probably could have cooked less....I also took the roast out before serving and thickened the liquid into a nice gravy...served over egg noodles...Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States