Zesty Slow-Cooker Italian Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Bland! I even rubbed seasoning on the roast before I cooked it and it still turned out bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waianae, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
The tomato soup makes for a fantastic sauce! Wouldn't make any changes except perhaps adding in peas during the last hour and adding 1 onion in big chunks. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I am 53 and I have been looking for the "FAMILY ROAST" for years and years! Finally! I made it just as written and my family never said a word during dinner. They were too busy enjoying dinner! (oh-I guess I did change one thing because I couldn't find it in the store-I had to buy one can of DelMonte Italian tomatoes and added one regular cut up plum tomato for the medium Italian plum tomato it called for) Thank you Campbell's Kitchen for the recipe contribution to ALLRECIPES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Only substitution I made was using green beans instead of celery because nobody in my family likes celery. I don't know if it's my slow cooker (it's a Cuisinart electronic) but the meat was way overcooked and tough and the veggies were not cooked enough and crunchy. Terrible! I didn't think it was especially tasty either. If it was tasty, I would try it again, this time putting the veggies in first and then adding the meat a few hours later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
After reading other reviews, I also added a can of Italian diced tomatoes, undrained, instead of a plum tomato, and did not add the water. After cooking I took the chuck roast out of the pan, skimmed fat of the top of the juices, shredded the beef into bite sized pieces, and thickened the juices with flour/water to make gravy. Turned out more like a stew. I also added a chopped onion. Next time, I will refrigerate the juices to get rid of the fat on top and serve the meal the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Meat was so tender and flavor was great. My husband and daughter who are not big meat eaters even had seconds. I did make a few additions, I put salt, pepper, floured the roast and seared it. I also sauted the garlic and added chopped onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I was so looking forward to eating this dish. I followed the directions verbatim with the exception of the time. 10-12 hours sounded way too long. It smelled great all day and after about 8 and 1/2 hours it was totally overcooked. So disappointing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
To Alice: Some of us like sodium. Hmmmph! Don't grade a recipe according to your likes, just adjust it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
i made this today it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States