Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Pretty much followed the recipe as is, however, I only had 2 breasts so I combined them with 5 thighs, all frozen. I also ran out of Worcesteshire sauce so I didn't use it. I added sliced onions to the bottom, before adding the chicken, and topped it with several cloves of garlic. The whole family loved it, including my picky 6 year old. We slow cooked it for 4 hours on high, shredded the chicken, then cooked it for another 45 minutes or so. We ate it in hamburger buns topped with cole slaw and cheese. Yummy and the family stuffed themselves! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This was awesome. My kids loved it and they aren't usually crazy about this kind of stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I didn't have all the ingredients so I improvised. 2 frozen turkey breasts, balsamic vinaigrette, 1/2 bottle of BBQ sauce, Worcestershire sauce, and 2 teaspoons chopped garlic. Ready in 4 hours, delicious. Served with baked sweet potato fries spiced with fajita mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This was easy and great. After reading previous reviews, I also added the teaspoon of liquid smoke, chopped onion and 2 cloves of garlic. Used sweet Baby Ray's Honey BBQ sauce and Basalmic vingrete because it is what I had on hand. The labels on the BBQ sauce and salad dressing looked like they had quite a bit of sugar already, so I omitted the brown sugar from the recipe. Everyone loved it. Kids and husband ate it with tortillas, salsa and cheese. My mother-in-law and I ate it plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Adjust time to 5 hours on low, shred chicken at 4 hrs, serve at 5 hours. And yes, use good bbq sauce. I used Baby Rays. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I used weber molasses bbq sauce and thawed the chicken breasts overnight. Used a crockpot liner, maybe that's why it didn't burn? Cooked it for about 7 hours on low, then shredded the chicken and let it cook another hour to absorb the sauce and it wasn't watery. I did take the lid off once or twice and wipe away the condensation though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Very Tasty, Chicken just falls apart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Thawed chicken overnight. Used the Jack Daniels Hickory Brown Sugar sauce. Also added 4 tablespoons of Spicey Brown mustard to the sauce mixture. Cooked on low for 3 hours, shredded and then another 3 hours. Served on good quality hamburger buns with mozzarella slices. Love this easy, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This is AWESOME! I've made it with Sweet Baby Ray's a few times and today I'm trying it with the Jack Daniel's Spicy BBQ! I put raw chicken breasts in the crock pot and cover it with chicken broth for a couple of hours on low. Then I drain the broth out as per the other reviewers suggestion and took a pair of tongs to it to shred it. Super easy. I then sauté my onion till it looks translucent and coat them with brown sugar. throw that in the pot, then do a couple cloves of garlic and throw that in with some bell peppers. I, myself, am not a big fan of chicken, but the BF loves it as he thinks its better than pork (i disagree) :P But the BF gets what he wants and he LOVES IT! Always takes the leftovers to work. I'm gonna try it with baked potato, that sounds yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer156
Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 3,247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States