Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
7/27/06 My girlfriend made this, then called me up saying it did not turn out like mine, after going through the recipe, I asked her what BBQ sauce she used. She bought Kraft on sale for .77 cents. Using good BBQ sauce is just as important as using good wine. Use Jack Daniels or Famous Daves etc. Stay away from the cheap sauces as they do affect the flavor of the foods. If you don't like sweet, don't use a sweet sauce. We really loved this recipe. If making this during the week, I season chicken with garlic powder, a little salt and pepper add a can of 99% chicken broth and throw in crockpot and cook on low for about 6 to eight hours. When I get home I drain grease shred chicken and pour rest of ingredients over chicken for about an hour to blend flavors. I use Famous Daves bold sassy barbeque sauce. When making on the weekend I cook on high for about four hours, drain, shred chicken and pour rest of ing. over chicken and cook for about two hours more to blend flavors. I also like to add a little onion and green pepper in the morning then put back into crockpot after draining. We put it on hoagie rolls or steak rolls that I brush with olive oil and broil till lightly brown. Served with a green side salad and fresh cut up veggies and dip. Yummy Yummy Yummy. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3776 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Audrea Rose
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I too used fresh chicken breasts and cooked them on high for 3 hours. I then shredded the chicken and cooked on low for 1 more hour. (Note: I only used 3 chicken breasts) I followed the recipe exactly and thought it turned out perfectly. For those who commented that the sauce was watery - shredding the chicken will help absorb it and make sure you are using a molasses based sauce and not a vinegar based sauce. I live in Kansas City so we definitely know our BBQ and this turned out great! Before serving the chicken, I brushed an olive oil and garlic salt mixture on the outside and inside of the bun and broiled for a few minutes until toasty. I also found a Chipotle Cheddar Cheese by Sargento that was a nice addition. Finished off with red onion slices. Will definitely make this again. Very good reheated too. UPDATE: With the left over chicken from last night, I made a salad with black beans, corn, onions, and chipotle cheddar cheese. I added the left over chicken and finished by drizzling a 2 part BBQ sauce, 1 part Ranch dressing mixture over the salad. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2562 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrea Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roeland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I love this sauce! The only change I made was to add about 1/2 cup of diced onion and 1 teaspoon of liquid smoke. I used Sweet Baby Ray's Honey barbecue sauce and the sauce was perfect. The chicken is wonderful but the recipe also lends itself well to boneless pork ribs. I threw them in the crockpot and poured the sauce over them. In about 8 hours I had the most tender, juicy ribs ever! Used the extra sauce to pour over the ribs once they had been served. A very big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1555 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MWT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
This recipe is awesome! It was a huge hit with my family. I thought the Italian Dressing/BBQ sauce combo was a little strage, but it turned out delicious! The next day, I put the leftover chicken and sauce on a Pillsbury pizza crust with some bacon and mozzarella. It was the BEST pizza ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
623 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I read in "Start a Tradition: Slow Cooker Sunday!" a article on all recipes that. "No frozen meats. Always defrost meats and poultry before placing them in a slow cooker."Other than that little suggestion this recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
495 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gehoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I added about 4 cloves of minced garlic & half a diced onion... my breasts weren't frozen so I only cooked on low for about 4 hours. Then I removed the chicken & shredded it, adding it back to the sauce, along w/ a tbp. or two of Wondra. (It's a non-clumping flour used in sauces & gravies. It's sometimes called "instant flour"). This thickened the sauce up nicely. I stuffed baked potates w/ this & added cheddar cheese & chopped onions. These were better than our local BBQ joint's stuffed potatoes! I served them w/ fresh corn on the cob (nuked) w/ parmesan butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
477 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Outstanding recipe! Added 3 cloves of minced garlic, one tbs of liquid smoke and Sweet Baby Ray's Hickory and Brown Sugar BBQ sauce! To avoid the wateriness of this dish that other reviewers have noted, try using chicken that has not been frozen and adjust your cook time accordingly. Served on rolls with carmelized onions and choice of cheese with a side of sweet potato fries.... My family of men LOVED this dish!!! HELPFUL HINT: Use the leftover chicken on Texas Chicken Quesadillas found on this site. Outstanding way to use up the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
400 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
YUMMERS! I used Jack Daniels original BBQ sauce, added an onion, sliced, only used 3 large chicken breasts, and per the other reviewers, added some flour about an hour or more before the end of cooking. I didnt want my chicken to dry out so I was doing the 6 hour recipe and had to crank the heat to high for the last 2 hours or my chicken would not have been done. I shredded the chicken about an hour before it was done and served it on fresh cibiatta rolls, with pickles and red onions to top them. SERIOUSLY easy and good. Served with sweet potato fries. Everyone licked their plates clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I made this last Monday and it came out nice if a bit watery. Next time I will only add half a bottle of BBQ sauce to the crockpot, then add the remainder after I shred it as some other reviewers suggested. It's really good though and has lots of potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I made this last night and my 7 year old LOVED LOVED LOVED it. I only had fresh chicken breasts (boneless - I used 5). I cooked it on high for 4 hours and the chicken breasts were tender, but not falling apart. I didn't shred it, as others did, but I'm sure that would be good too. I used Hickory Smoked Bulls' Eye BBQ sauce and Newman's Italian dressing. Served with steamed red potatoes & peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States