Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
My family really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I have made this recipe exactly as written a few times at the suggestion of my mom who tried it first, and we all love it! The first two times I just served it on buns right out of the crock pot, but a week ago I strained the shredded chicken so it wouldn't make the bread so soggy, and made sandwiches on buttered and grilled sourdough. I covered them with cheese, popped them under the broiler for a few to melt it, then topped them with onions, pickles, anything you want, and used the extra sauce and some ranch for dipping. My husband was impressed and full, and it was easy and delicious. I will agree with others that the bbq sauce you use will greatly affect the flavor of the chicken, I have used a couple of different sauces and I am going to try a new one next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Yum! This is a very good recipe for chicken barbecue. I used four thawed, trimmed chicken breasts, Sweet Baby Ray's Hickory & Brown Sugar barbecue sauce, Kraft Italian dressing and a little less brown sugar than the recipe called for. I found that 5 1/2 to 6 hours on low was perfect. I'll definitely make this again; my husband also loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaC108

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Yum! Very good! Used 3 large chicken breasts and 1/2 amount of sauce! Made at least 8 sandwiches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Great recipe!!! I used Sweet Baby Rays Sweet and Spicy Barbecue Sauce. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
My husband and I love this recipe!! I will also use it to make pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Ingle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Excellent recipe. The chicken was juicy and flavorful. I cooked the chicken (3 pieces) on high for 3 hours, shredded the chicken, and then on low for 45 minutes. The only think I would change next time would be to use 3/4 of the amount of sauce called for but only because I used less chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I didn't use enough chicken (I was confused what counted as "halves"- doh!), so this was heavy on the sauce and overall tasted a bit too sweet. In the future, I would either use less BBQ sauce or more chicken to soak it up. Overall a tasty dish, maybe not the healthiest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris Johnson
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I just made this for my wife and me and it was amazing. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This is a good, simple, family-friendly shredded bbq chicken recipe! Made it last night and will definitely make it again. My husband loved it! I was leery to use frozen breasts in the crockpot (although many people seems to do fine with it...)so I defrosted and cleaned/trimmed the breasts first. (I used 6 smaller boneless breasts). I used the ingredients as listed and cooked on high for 3 hrs, and removed and shredded, and then return to cook on high for another hour. The consistency of the sauce was perfect! If I hadn't shredded the chicken I think it would have been watery as the chicken would have had trouble absorbing the liquid. The addition of brown sugar makes it sweet, so if you use a sweeter bbq sauce, you may want to cut back. I served on crusty rolls with a salad. There were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 3,513) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States