Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This was amazing!!! And super easy! Just make sure you use good bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
More than an Awesome Recipe! I made this recipe tonight for dinner. I used only 4 good sized frozen chicken breasts, washing and trimming them first. The only changes I made was obviously to the sauce. I used about 3 tablespoons more of brown sugar, 8oz. zesty Italian dressing, 18oz. Sweet Baby Rays Cola BBQ sauce, a dash of adobo, a dash of adobe pepper sauce, salt and pepper to taste. Half way through the cooking time I took the chicken out and shredded it, then returned it to the pot and stirred it into the sauce. The total cooking time was 5 hours on low in my crock pot. After the 5 hours I lowered the setting to warm for about 1 hour then shut the pot off. The more you let the mixture sit it will soak up all that lovely juice. I served the BBQ chicken on Hawaiian Sweet Rolls with coleslaw on or off to the side. Me and My better half loved it. Try it! I know you will love this easy tasty recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
My husband loved it and the leftovers were great on toasted bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Seriously delish. And so easy. Have made it multiple times and now it's a family favorite. One recipe feeds a lot of folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
So good! I also added it to rice one day to switch up the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Pretty good as is, but I had to make a few changes. I rubbed salt, pepper, onion and garlic powders, and paprika under the skin of unfrozen chicken (food safety courses teach not to use frozen meat in slow cookers because it spends too much time in the 'danger zone'). Then I placed the chicken in the cooker on top of balls of foil and added about 1/3 c water and some liquid smoke to the bottom. After 4 hours on low I lifted the chicken out, removed the foil, and drained the juices, then shredded the chicken and returned it to the cooker with sauces and cooked another hour on low. A couple notes: whenever I make this I add extra chicken initially, then set it aside before adding sauces so I already have perfectly cooked chicken for salad or whatever else. And if you don't have Italian dressing, you can just do what I did, after topping with BBQ, drizzle with olive oil, red wine vinegar (or any wine vinegar), lemon juice, and parsley and oregano to taste. Finally, if you use a sweet barbeque sauce (I used honey barbeque) do NOT add the additional brown sugar, it makes it far too sweet. Don't be put off by the BBQ and Italian dressing combo, it makes an all around crowd pleaser that was enjoyed by everyone in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
My family loved this. When they're done cooking, I took the chicken out and shredded them with a fork then returned it back to the sauce to cook longer. You need to use thick buns or rolls! The next night we used the leftovers to put on top of baked potatoes which were very tasty also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
ONLY TWO HOURS IN THE OVEN! I lightly seasoned the breasts with sea salt, pepper, and garlic powder before slow cooking in the oven in a roaster (my slow cooker is broken) at 250 degrees for 2hrs. So tender and juicy!!! Just shredded the breasts with 2 forks. Made delicious sliders! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Delicious! Zesty and tasty. Unfortunately, I didn't make enough for Left overs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Love it as-is. As everyone is saying, you definitely need good BBQ sauce--don't skimp. (I use Jack Danie's). I use frozen and have never had an issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 3,337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States