Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I substituted Italian dressing with Sweet Balsamic Vinaigrette dressing, added an onion, and I also slowly added a little corn starch when it was almost done to thicken it up (otherwise it would've been too runny). Served on Ciabatta bread. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Love this recipe and make it often. The first time I followed it exactly and was not thrilled with the results. It was way too sweet for me. The BBQ sauce I used was sweet baby rays original so maybe thats why. I had to add a lot of salt to cut the sweetness and I also added crush red pepper flakes. Now when I make it I only do 1 tbs of the brown sugar. I also add about 1tbs of the crushed red pepper flakes and about 1tsp of salt. Also a reviewer commented on that the chicken should be thawed not frozen- I have made it both ways just because 1 time I only had fresh chicken. It works fine either way. If its thawed you just cut back on the cooking time. Also, this recipe does not address actually making this BBQ. I check the chicken when I think it is cooked through and take it out and shred it and then place it back into the crock pot to simmer another 30-45 minutes to soak everything up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EraErica

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
So easy and so good! I took the suggestion of adding liquid smoke and also garlic. I serve it on rolls with coleslaw. Perfect meal when it's too hot to be in the kitchen. And the leftovers are - if there are any - are even better! Thanks for sharing this, Zanne Tastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Washington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This was juicy and fall apart good. I added an onion and some garlic. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
It was absolutely delicious! My husband grunted while eating... he rarely does that! And I loved that it cooked while I was at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This is delicious. We usually only make 1/2 the servings, and always add a tablespoon of brandy and a tablespoon of sriracha. Serve on potato buns with fresh kale and raw onion and my boyfriend literally is eating the leftover sauce in the slow cooker with a spoon. Always shred the chicken an hour before serving and put it back in the slow cooker to absorb as much sauce as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Key is good BBQ sauce like other reviews mention. I used Jack Daniels sauce, followed the recipe to a T and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This was good, I added some minced garlic,onions and 1/4 tsp of poultry seasoning with chicken legs I used (pulled the skin off them). They were so tender after 4 hours I shredded the meat of the bones and let it sit in the slow cooker until we were ready to eat.Adding to recipe box so I can make regularly...especially when I am in a quick and effortless dinner:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
3 hours on high, shred and return to pot for an hour on low. If you get anywhere near 8 hrs on low, just go out to dinner and use the chicken breasts for door stops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 3,367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States