Zesty Pork Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
I made one substitution in this recipe: I used lemon pepper for the pepper. And I made one mistake: I mixed 1 1/2 cups water with the soy sauce. The aroma while it was cooking was wonderful! This recipe is a keeper for us. Very flavorful way to make a pork tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I took all the ingredients & put them in the crockpot all day. Then I took the meat & vegs out w/a slotted spoon & put them in a serving dish (I used fresh tarragon instead of dried so I removed the sprigs @ this time). Then I poured all the juices out of the crock pot into a saucepan on the stove, added the cornstarch & thickened it. Then I poured all that yummy gravy over the meat & vegs. Voila! Good stuff. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
awesome! very tender and full of juice.. my entire family loved it all I did was cut pepper to 1 and a half tablespoons.. best tenderloin i have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Pretty much did the recipe as directed except I did as suggested by others and only used 1 teaspoon of pepper. Also opted to used fresh tarragon instead of dried. Also used low sodium soy sauce and extra virgin olive oil. My husband was in love with the vegetables (he's usually more of a meat guy). He was also a huge fan of the sauce. The meat itself was good as well. I could see how some could find it too hot, but with the sauce it was perfect. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This was an excellent recipe, with the caveat of several necessary changes. The amount of pepper asked for has to be a misprint. I halved it, and upon eating, decided that it should be halved again. Also, halved the garlic. Used fresh tarragon instead of dried, in the same amount called for. We like a thicker sauce, so doubled the amount of cornstarch. Also, used low sodium tamari rather than soy, although had I not had the tamari on hand, would've used the soy, but also in a low sodium variety. Otherwise excellent, and will be added to the regular repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCTEXAN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I agree with the other reviewers that the amount of pepper was probably a misprint. I used 2 teaspoons instead of the 2 tablespoons and kept everything else as written. DH, myself and my 6 year old son loved it but it was too spicy for my daughter. My son puts pepper on his popcorn so he can take the heat. I think when I make this again (and I will), I'll just use 1 teaspoon of pepper and see how that turns out. The pork was very tender and the veggies were pretty good too though a little over cooked for our taste but a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was delicious! I didn't use tarragon and instead I took the advise of another rating and used Italian Seasoning. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suziq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Everyone enjoyed this recipe. I didn`t use all the pepper, and doubled the corn starch. Next time I will go half and half for the pepper(lemon&black) and cut down the soy sauce(even with reduced sodium) I found it a little salty. The meat was so tender no knife was necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Seriously, cannot believe people said it was too spicy, they must like real bland food. Was a real nice blend, I also substituted lemon pepper for just straight pepper and added 1/2 cup lemon juice with 1 cup of water. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmie Zee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Photo by mrswallace2014
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Loved this recipe, worth the prep time. I made a couple changes, I used a dash of rosemary instead of the tarragon I didn't have. I also only used 1 1/2 cups of carrots, and 2 potatoes. Cooked for 60 minutes, took the foil off and cooked another 20 mins. This is peppery but that's our kind of food! If it's too much pepper, I suggest halving it. Served on top of white rice, delicious dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States