Zesty Pork Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This was an excellent recipe, with the caveat of several necessary changes. The amount of pepper asked for has to be a misprint. I halved it, and upon eating, decided that it should be halved again. Also, halved the garlic. Used fresh tarragon instead of dried, in the same amount called for. We like a thicker sauce, so doubled the amount of cornstarch. Also, used low sodium tamari rather than soy, although had I not had the tamari on hand, would've used the soy, but also in a low sodium variety. Otherwise excellent, and will be added to the regular repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCTEXAN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
This was very good. I cooked it at 350 for 1 1/2 hours, then I removed the garlic, pepper, and tarragon off the roast, and cooked it for another hour at 200. It was so tender it almost fell apart. My family did not care for the carrots, potatoes or the sauce. Very soy tasting. Will make again, minus the carrots and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
This recipe was definitely an easy family pleaser. We added it to our recipe box (and noted the pepper change)! I usually read the reviews before trying a new recipe. My mistake! I wanted a quick and easy last minute recipe in which I had all the ingredients on hand and this was it! I questioned the amount of pepper while preparing it and decided not to adjust it. I think it must be two TEASPOONS instead of two tablespoons. It was a quick fix for tonights dinner. We just scraped off the seasonings and enjoyed the most moist tenderloin we have ever eaten! I am already planning on using this recipe for an upcoming large family gathering. They will think I slaved for days preparing this beautiful, tasty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
There was too much pepper in this recipe. My husband would not eat it. I personally would cut down the pepper to less than a teaspoon. If it hadn't been so hot it would have been delicious. Was that pepper amount a misprint????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Nice peppery taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
I made one substitution in this recipe: I used lemon pepper for the pepper. And I made one mistake: I mixed 1 1/2 cups water with the soy sauce. The aroma while it was cooking was wonderful! This recipe is a keeper for us. Very flavorful way to make a pork tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2001
OUCH! This was painfully hot! I like spicy food, but this was too much. The flavor itself was quite good, while my tastebuds were still working. Try it, but cut the pepper in half, at least!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stockton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
Way too much spice for my family. Even after scraping off the seasonings midway through cooking, the smell brought tears to the kids eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I agree with the other reviewers that the amount of pepper was probably a misprint. I used 2 teaspoons instead of the 2 tablespoons and kept everything else as written. DH, myself and my 6 year old son loved it but it was too spicy for my daughter. My son puts pepper on his popcorn so he can take the heat. I think when I make this again (and I will), I'll just use 1 teaspoon of pepper and see how that turns out. The pork was very tender and the veggies were pretty good too though a little over cooked for our taste but a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I took all the ingredients & put them in the crockpot all day. Then I took the meat & vegs out w/a slotted spoon & put them in a serving dish (I used fresh tarragon instead of dried so I removed the sprigs @ this time). Then I poured all the juices out of the crock pot into a saucepan on the stove, added the cornstarch & thickened it. Then I poured all that yummy gravy over the meat & vegs. Voila! Good stuff. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States