Zesty Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
the flavor was good but our meatballs totally feel apart. Needs some bread crumbs or something to hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Easy, budget friendly, and kid friendly. The meatballs are good, but the sauce is kind of boring for adults. I'm glad I didn't make this on a night when my husband was home. The kids loved it, zero complaints from these picky eaters. I followed the advice of baking the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
not sure where all the great reviews came from on this one. My meatballs didnt hold together very well [this could have been my own fault, however] but even if they had, I wasnt crazy about the taste. Just tom soup and worcestshire sauce was nothing spectacular and tasted a bit sweet. i added red pepper flakes and more black pepper on top and it still didnt really do anything for it. And thsi is despite the fact that I used seasoned meat for these (I have frozen meatballs that I defrosted and added soup, egg, and rice to)--the meat itself was the best tasting part and that has nothing to do with this recipe. In the future, I think I will sautee a bunch of garlic, and also add red pepper flakes, white pepper, and black pepper to the sauce before throwing the meatballs in and allowing the spices to really cook in. Also, cooking these on a skillet was really difficult and my meatballs started spreading apart, so then I baked my next batch instead of cooking them on the stove and it was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Made this recipe today for my family of 7. Most ate it, but nobody liked it and I was asked to not make it again. Back to my old recipe! Thanks, anyhow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I don't usually like to change recipes, but based on my experience of eating porcupine balls growing up, coupled with many suggestions from reviewers, I had to change from the tomato soup to spaghetti sauce. I also added 2 eggs, instead of 1 and 1/2 cup bread crumbs, to help the meatballs stay together - this worked very well. I used 1 1/2 cups of lean ground beef, mixed all ingredients together, including 1/4 cup of spaghetti sauce in the meatball mixture. I didn't have instant rice on hand, so I used 1/2 c cooked brown rice. I put the meatballs in a glass pan and covered them with Prego spaghetti sauce & sliced green peppers. Then, going on the advise of many reviewers here, I baked this in the oven at 350 degrees in a glass pan, covered witih foil for 30 min., then removed foil, cooked additional 30 min. Meatballs stayed together and turned out perfect! I haven't had porcupine balls in so long - thanks for the idea, it was such a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Added to the sauce large can crushed tomatoes, cooked garlic and onion. Used brown rice instead of white. All enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I used a splash of BBQ sauce instead of Worchestashire sauce and they turned out great. I also added 1 cup of rice to the meat mixture because my family likes rice and the meat still formed nice balls that stuck together. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souper-Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This made for a great weeknight dinner that everyone enjoyed. I used tomato sauce rather than soup, leftover rice rather than instant, and added a little mustard to the meat and sauce. I served these with extra rice, garlic bread and green beans. Hubby made the suggestion to try them with a BBQ style sauce next time, so we'll see how that goes. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
My picky kids loved it and so did I. My 6 year old told me to write that she ate 3 big meatballs and loved them. She finished her whole plate which she never does! This one is a keeper being it's also very simple to put together quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Very good! Stuck with the full 1/4 C. worcestershire sauce and was glad I did. Good, hearty comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States