Zesty Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I don't usually like to change recipes, but based on my experience of eating porcupine balls growing up, coupled with many suggestions from reviewers, I had to change from the tomato soup to spaghetti sauce. I also added 2 eggs, instead of 1 and 1/2 cup bread crumbs, to help the meatballs stay together - this worked very well. I used 1 1/2 cups of lean ground beef, mixed all ingredients together, including 1/4 cup of spaghetti sauce in the meatball mixture. I didn't have instant rice on hand, so I used 1/2 c cooked brown rice. I put the meatballs in a glass pan and covered them with Prego spaghetti sauce & sliced green peppers. Then, going on the advise of many reviewers here, I baked this in the oven at 350 degrees in a glass pan, covered witih foil for 30 min., then removed foil, cooked additional 30 min. Meatballs stayed together and turned out perfect! I haven't had porcupine balls in so long - thanks for the idea, it was such a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Added to the sauce large can crushed tomatoes, cooked garlic and onion. Used brown rice instead of white. All enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I used a splash of BBQ sauce instead of Worchestashire sauce and they turned out great. I also added 1 cup of rice to the meat mixture because my family likes rice and the meat still formed nice balls that stuck together. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souper-Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This made for a great weeknight dinner that everyone enjoyed. I used tomato sauce rather than soup, leftover rice rather than instant, and added a little mustard to the meat and sauce. I served these with extra rice, garlic bread and green beans. Hubby made the suggestion to try them with a BBQ style sauce next time, so we'll see how that goes. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
My picky kids loved it and so did I. My 6 year old told me to write that she ate 3 big meatballs and loved them. She finished her whole plate which she never does! This one is a keeper being it's also very simple to put together quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Very good! Stuck with the full 1/4 C. worcestershire sauce and was glad I did. Good, hearty comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This recipe is excellent. I searched for it because I had left-over rice from a previous meal and wanted to use it in a meatball. I changed this recipe to include the already cooked cold rice instead of instant rice. I also used ground turkey instead of ground beef. It turned out very good even with the changes. Tomato soup with Worcestershire sauce is delish. Served over noodles it made a great meal. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Excellente! I made them *almost* exactly as the recipe showed. But I didn't have onion salt, only onion powder, so I added some onion powder and about 1/2 tsp. garlic salt. I also used dried parsley. I'll definitely make again! Will probably bake them next time, then transfer to a pan to simmer. I made a double batch and it was quite tricky turning them to brown on all sides...but the end result was wonderful. I served over white rice. The sauce, as simple as it was, was a nice tangy zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny in Mass
Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Very good. I added crushed garlic since we all love garlic with beef. I will add more rice next time. I wondered why others served them with rice or noodles. No complaints, though. These are delicious. I don't think other recipes I have used in the past had Worcestershire sauce and that's what puts this over the top. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I make mine using ground pork instead of ground beef, and I just use salt, pepper,onions,minced garlic,regular rice and I use three cans of soup,(has to be Campbell soup tastes so much better!) I usually water down the soup a little. I brown my meat balls first and then add the soup and bake for about an hour at 375C
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Harris

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States