Zesty Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Nice, basic recipe for a beginning cook. A quick, easy and satisfying supper that will appeal to a variety of taste buds. 4 stars as my son loved this recipe, however I found the meatballs to be dry and in need of extra seasonings, and the tomato soup mix to taste, well, like tomato soup. Not sure how you can "jazz" it up, but definitely worth tinkering with. Thank you for posting Michelle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Horrible, meatballs broke up and it was an entire waste of time and food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Quick and simple recipe with a lot of zip! My husband and I both loved the zesty taste so the worcestershire sauce was the right amount. I used regular long grain brown rice, so I cooked it beforehand, added the amount called for to the beef, and served the meatballs and sauce over the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
My boys went crazy over these. One said I should make this recipe every night.... wow, that is the best review he's ever given! I read many of the reviews and took away my own set of enhancements which are: 1. added 1/4 t garlic powder for flavor, 2. added 1/2 t crushed red pepper for zing, 3. added about 2 T of bread crumbs, just because I thought it would make it go a bit further, and many people recommended this to help keep together, 4. added 1 1/2 t Worcestershire sauce to the meatballs (did anyone else notice the mistake in the recipe, where she says add "remainder" of Worcestershire sauce to the tomato soup, but she never mentioned how much to add to the meatballs in the first place), 5. reduced amount of Worcestershire sauce added in the soup to 2 T, because most said it was overpowering. Also, I thought it would be easier to bake, so I did at 350 degrees, covered, for 35 minutes (just poured the sauce over my 1 inch meatballs). Many reviewers seems to have grown up on these and from those reviewers, I learned it is traditionally served over mashed potatoes, which was awesome. Try the soup before you jump to substituting tomato sauce... the flavor was really good, slightly different than old standard of bathing them in tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I wasn't too thrilled with these. I used the entire amount of Worcestershire sauce, but the sauce was still a bit too sweet. I wouldn't use the word "zesty" to describe these. Maybe a bit tangy, but not really zesty. Also, I didn't have instant rice, so I used 1/2 cup regular cooked rice -- because I looked online and apparently, 1/4 cup uncooked instant rice will equal 1/2 cup cooked rice. Mine didn't turn out dry, but I did add an extra Tbs. of sauce to the meat mixture. But one mistake I did make was to brown the meatballs in a pan coated with olive oil on high heat. They burnt very quickly. So then I transferred them to a casserole dish and baked at 400 degrees F for about 50 minutes. I had to cover them with foil towards the end, though, because they started to burn a little. I will make these again only if my toddler likes them. That's the true test. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as posted and it needs flavor. It was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This is a good recipe as is. Try adding minced garlic, another spoon of soup, and a splash of worcestershire to the meatballs. Brown them very slowly over low heat. Add another can of soup, green pepper strips, minced garlic and carrot slices to the meatballs and simmer until done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
These are amazing.I love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I have made this twice it always seems to go over well. I always double it and freeze some. I use slightly less Worcestershire sauce than it calls for. One time I made it and substituted 1 (soup size) can of spaghetti sauce - because I was short on the tomato soup and it tasted good that way too. I served it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmascookin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Easy, tasty and cheap. Added more instant rice and browned in a skillet cooked for 3 hours on high in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hokker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States