Zesty Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
When I made this recipe I decided to make it slightly healthier by adding finely chopped carrots and celery to the meatballs--this did not affect the flavor nor the appearance- my family did not even know. I added a dash of salt, figuring there is plenty of salt in the tomato soup & worcestershire sauce. I served the porcupine meatballs over Quinoa, which is healthy & tasted really good with this dish--in fact, my finicky husband liked it better than when I make it over rice. The last change I made was to put the formed meatballs in my casserole dish, cover them with the soup/sauce mix, & bake them in a 350 degree F oven for 45 minutes covered & then I uncovered them & baked for 15 more minutes. This way, no browning was required & it simplified the preparation!! They were so tasty--my entire family went back for seconds--definitely a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ceresco, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I love this receipe. Definitely needs more sauce, maybe 4 cans of soup and 1/2 c worchestshire sauce. I also mix, put on a chopping board and then cut out my meatballs. 20 minutes at 400 without sauce, then add sauce for an additional 10 to heat up and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Growing up in the 70's/early 80's, this dinner brought me down memory lane. A quick scan of the ingredients told me I'd need to spruce up the seasonings in the dish, which is always an easy fix for those of us who like spices. I "spiced up" both the hamburger mixture as well as the soup mixture with eyeballed amounts of onion/garlic powders, black pepper, and Lawry's (in the hamburger mix only), as well as 1/4 c breadcrumbs. I subbed out an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce since I only had 1 can of tomato soup (I used Campbell's Tomato Bisque), but I'd prefer using only the tomato soup next time. I also used the entire 1/4 c of worchestershire since I love it, and added a few pinches of brown sugar to my tomato mixture. Served over white rice, along with a quick green pepper & onion stir-fry. A tad more time-consuming than I'd like for a busy weeknight, but a delicious change-up for weekend meals. Thanks for the throwback meal memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
We love this recipe and serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
My family liked this dish. I used pre-cooked rice that I already had. The meatballs turned out great and we will have this one again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I liked it, but next time I'll season the meat more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancygirl03

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
One of the few ways I can my husband to eat rice is with this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terdette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I really wasn't sure about this but it turned out so good. My hubby and son loved it over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Delicious. Both toddlers ate with gusto compared to their normal pickyness. Definitely added to the week rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States