Zesty Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Great recipe. I used the full amount of Worcestershire Sauce, and added a couple of shakes of hot pepper sauce to the meat mixture. I used regular rice, browned the meatballs and put everything in the slow cooker. Meatballs were very moist and the rice was done. The only thing I would do differently would be to add a can of water to my soup mixture. Because I used a slow cooker, my sauce was too thick (though very tasty).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Saucy - perhaps even a bit too saucy (there was lots of sauce left-over) due to the recipe using 2 cans of soup, when all other porcupine meatball recipes call for only 1 can. I will return to Better Homes & Gardens classic porcupine meatball recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
These were good. I thought they were a bit bland. But everyone else loved them. I left the onions out, my husband is allergic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Having grown up on tomato based porcupine meatballs, as well as the mushroom soup variety, I was excited to find a recipe that brought back a childhood staple. This was a great recipe. Used tomato sauce instead of soup as that's what I had and added garlic powder out of habit when it comes to ground beef. This was a big hit with my husband too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
this is so similar to my mom's recipe that i can attest that it does work. she never used the seasoning (parsley and onion powder, altho i do sometimes). she always used 1 can of soup, which was always too little, i always doubled it. never used the worchester, because it causes hubby indigestion. mom's was always done ontop of a double boiler and she cursed that recipe, cause she'd be slaving over the stove for 45 mins and the thigns wouldn't cook. then i came across recipes that browned them in the skillet, like this one. which worked great, but i always had an issue with them sticking to the skillet and falling apart..then i discovered putting them in the oven..*lightbulb goes off*. so i stick em in 400 degreese on a silicone baking mat, they brown perfectly. u can either then throw them in the sauce and simmer, or let them cook thru, add em to sauce, and freeze or save for later. will only take mins while your cooking the spaghetti to heat ;) I also don't recall if her recipe added an egg, i think not, so i did. I think that's another reason why they tend to fall apart. I'm making some now with an egg, but lately i've been using half ground pork and that seemed to help hold them together. i'm out of ground pork, so back to basics. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
My family ask for this, My husband grew up with this meal, glad I found a recipe that meet's with his expectations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinder92

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Love this stand-by
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daysee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
WOW. The best ever!!! My grandma is a very good cook and she could never top this... the right texture, rice was done and plenty of sauce at first you think you have to much sauce, but when you break the balls open, its very good for dipping. Thanks....that will be on my menu,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I ended up using one can of tomato soup and one can of tomato sauce, cooked white rice instead of instant, and hamburger that had been thawing in the fridge all day - many of the meatballs fell apart but who cares? It is still delicious! We served it over the rest of the rice that didn't make it into the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
ok, gave these a try and was quite surprised. I did add a little extra spices to my meat mixture. I ended up adding about a half of a cup plain bread crumbs to thicken up the meat. My husband did not care for the sauce, but he did like the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States