Zesty Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
My family loves porcupine meatballs. I made this recipe last night and they were the best ever. This is definately my new porcupine meatball recipe. My family likes more rice so I did use 3/4 cup rice. Also, I never brown my meatballs first...just put them in a dutch oven, pour the sauce over them, cover, and bake at 350 for about 45 minutes. I use extra lean ground beef so I don't have to worry about grease in my sauce. Thanks for a great new variation on a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and the meatballs just fell apart. They need some more binder, maybe bread crumbs. I have made porcupines for years but will never use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I thought these had good flavor; I tried to cut the recipe in half (only had 1/2 lb of ground beef & 1 can tomato soup in the house); for some reason, my meatballs fell apart, so it was more like meat sauce. I made extra rice & served it over that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Good recipe for basic meatballs that can be used in many different ways. Also, a good way to use left-over or take-out rice. I choose not cook them in the tomato soup because I am going to freeze them to pull out when I need a quick meal. A tip for those who are in a hurry and need to speed up/ease the cooking process is, boil water in a large sauce pan. Add your shaped meatballs (you decide the size) to the boiling water and wait till they rise to the top (about 5 minutes) then cook another 5 minutes or so in the sauce of your choice or until internal temp is around 165-170 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.Bressi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Wow! I did not expect much as I was making this recipe - it was too simple! But these came out fabulously. I followed the recipe exactly, I would not cut down on the Worchestire (I don't know how to spell it). Even the BF loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
These were excellent! I ended up having to double the recipe as I had last minute guests coming over as well. I used well over 1.75 cups of minute rice, eyeballed the onion, and added minced garlic as well. I also added chopped onion and garlic to the sauce. I followed other suggestions of partially baking, draining off fat, then adding sauce. I added Lee & Perrin's to taste and increased the pepper. EVERYONE loved these meatballs, from my 62 year old dad to my 4 year old son. I served with garlic mashed potatoes and a salad. This is SO a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I think this recipe is just a really good fill-you-up meal all in itself. I think it could have used more zip and I'll add some ketchup and brown sugar to the sauce next time just to give it a little more kick. I did not make enough sauce even though I made extra. I will definitely make more sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gravylegs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I make a version of porcupine meatballs every Groundhog day, and we call them Groundhog meatballs. I don't know if it was just this recipe, or if I'm getting better at meatballs, but this was my best time yet. I followed the recipe exactly, except used garlic salt instead of onion salt because I didn't have any. The meatballs came out moist and yummy. I served them over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Jones Frandsen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
A definite keeper. So filling, it warms the heart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Brookins
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Yum. I use ground turkey, about a half pound, and double the rice to make them more porcupiney. I use regular short grain rice cooked less time with less water (about 1 part to 1 part). I bake in a glass 9x13 pan at 400 for 20-25 min than add the sauce mixture and cook another 10-15 min. Delish. Sometimes I sneak finely grated carrot into the meatball mixture or some v8 instead of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States