Zesty Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was overall a great recipe. However, The first time I made them, I found the suggested size of the meatballs a little too big, meaning that the centre of the meatball was a bit bland. The second time I made them I added a clove of garlic and a teaspoon of oregano to the meat mix, and added a little bit of home dried chilli to the sauce to give it a bit of a boost. The chilli's I used are one's I grew myself and dried myself, so they are not overly hot, but gave the sauce just a little bit of a pick me up. Will definately make again using a smaller meatball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This recipe was good and child friendly. Only problem we had was there was not enough sauce. **My initial changes were to substitute 2 lbs of grnd turkey, to double the rest of the recipe, use garlic salt instead of onion salt, and added an additional 1/4c instant rice-grnd turkey is more wet. **Next changes were to add another can of soup and a medium size can of diced green chilis-they make everything good. **Next because my toddler has an aversion to vegetables I added 1/2c finely shredded carrots, 1/2c finely shredded Parm-Regg, used 50oz of Prego Original Italian sauce (was out of soup) and about 1/4c prepared alfredo sauce-very good. TIP: I used a #16 (2.25" wide) ice scream scoop-much easier to form consistently sized meatballs. Hope this helps. Enjoy the original or the modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
YUM!! I used this recipe and modified it with another recipe. Instead of tom soup I used tom sauce and left out the Worcestershire sauce and added garlic. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Kids liked them... but they did fall apart in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Seabeck, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
These were easy & inexpensive to make, and were very good! I made them because other reviewers stated their toddlers loved them -- mine still wouldn't take more than 1 bite (which is typical!), but my husband & I both enjoyed the meal. UPDATE: Doubled the sauce, added extra worcestershire, baked at 350 for an hour (covered last 20 mins,) served w/ rice & broccoli. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara N.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I changed the seasoning for the meatballs to 1 tbsp worcestershire sauce, 1 tbsp minced garlic, 1 tbsp minced dried onion and pepper with the ground beef, egg and rice. For the sauce I used 2 cans of soup, 1 tbsp worcestershire sauce, 1 tbsp minced garlic, 1 tbsp minced dried onion and 1 tbsp beef better then boullion. I didn't precook the meatballs, I whisked all the sauce ingredients in my dutch oven, added a little water to thin, then placed raw meatballs in the sauce. Covered and baked for 30 minutes at 350, stirred and cooked for another 30 minutes. Served with green bean saute and mashed potatoes, was enjoyed by the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I remember having these growing up and I still love them now. I actually make the meatballs and then put them in my slow cooker. I pour the sauce over and let them cook on low for about 7-8 hours. They are moist and flavorful. I serve over brown rice with a side of broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
These were wonderful, thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVSMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moline, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dorr, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
My family loves porcupine meatballs. I made this recipe last night and they were the best ever. This is definately my new porcupine meatball recipe. My family likes more rice so I did use 3/4 cup rice. Also, I never brown my meatballs first...just put them in a dutch oven, pour the sauce over them, cover, and bake at 350 for about 45 minutes. I use extra lean ground beef so I don't have to worry about grease in my sauce. Thanks for a great new variation on a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and the meatballs just fell apart. They need some more binder, maybe bread crumbs. I have made porcupines for years but will never use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States