Zesty Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Made them last night. I really, truly wanted to follow the recipe exactly, but it was Italian night, sooo - I used a jar (gasp!!) of good-quality spaghetti sauce instead of the soup, and threw in about 1 1/2 tsp. of mixed Italian seasoning. After sauteing the meatballs I put them into the simmering sauce and finished them there. Turned out great, and a bit spicy, too. Oh, no need to use "instant" rice - there is enough cooking and simmering time to cook regular long grain rice all the way. In fact, I think instant rice might become soggy with this long-ish cooking time. Meatballs were a bit soft and kinda fell apart in cooking. I don't know how to fix this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I loved this recipe and so did the family. I added a little more rice. I have some ideas about the next time - going to add some spinach. I am definitely keeping this on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
good easy recipe. I substituted a large can of tomato sauce for the tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Followed recipe I really liked it had a little bit of a zip to it. My family did not care for it. Its all personal taste. Next time made meatballs 2 cups of tomato juice mixed with 1T of cornstarch and baked. Everyone liked that better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This was very tasty, the whole family loved it. The only addition for next time is about a 1/4 cup of bread crumbs to bind the meatballs a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarKerRaven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This was awesome, as directed!!! Next time, I will double the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I have been eating these since I was a kid. The only thing is that I don't add worcestershire sauce to the gravy and I serve it over mashed potatoes...DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
So, my husband really liked them, but I did not as much. They turned out a little dry. I just wonder if we let them simmer a little too long
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This was not a porcupine meatball. Browning the meatball forms a crust so when they cook the rice can't poke out. the sauce was ok, but I think I will stick to my old recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I saw 'Porcupine meatballs' and flipped, I make this all the time...sort of. I use two cans tomato soup and 2 cans of water - bring to a boil (seasoned with salt, pepper and a little rice thrown in) - form all the meatballs with eggs and various seasoning and put them right in the soup & water and cook for a couple hours, toward the end I mix a slurry of corn starch and water and add it and 1/2 soup can of milk. Makes a WONDERFUL meal, tons of delicious gravy for your mashed potatoes and over the meatballs. My Mom made it all the time as did HER Mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States