Zesty Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Having grown up on tomato based porcupine meatballs, as well as the mushroom soup variety, I was excited to find a recipe that brought back a childhood staple. This was a great recipe. Used tomato sauce instead of soup as that's what I had and added garlic powder out of habit when it comes to ground beef. This was a big hit with my husband too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
this is so similar to my mom's recipe that i can attest that it does work. she never used the seasoning (parsley and onion powder, altho i do sometimes). she always used 1 can of soup, which was always too little, i always doubled it. never used the worchester, because it causes hubby indigestion. mom's was always done ontop of a double boiler and she cursed that recipe, cause she'd be slaving over the stove for 45 mins and the thigns wouldn't cook. then i came across recipes that browned them in the skillet, like this one. which worked great, but i always had an issue with them sticking to the skillet and falling apart..then i discovered putting them in the oven..*lightbulb goes off*. so i stick em in 400 degreese on a silicone baking mat, they brown perfectly. u can either then throw them in the sauce and simmer, or let them cook thru, add em to sauce, and freeze or save for later. will only take mins while your cooking the spaghetti to heat ;) I also don't recall if her recipe added an egg, i think not, so i did. I think that's another reason why they tend to fall apart. I'm making some now with an egg, but lately i've been using half ground pork and that seemed to help hold them together. i'm out of ground pork, so back to basics. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
My family ask for this, My husband grew up with this meal, glad I found a recipe that meet's with his expectations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinder92

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Love this stand-by
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daysee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
WOW. The best ever!!! My grandma is a very good cook and she could never top this... the right texture, rice was done and plenty of sauce at first you think you have to much sauce, but when you break the balls open, its very good for dipping. Thanks....that will be on my menu,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I ended up using one can of tomato soup and one can of tomato sauce, cooked white rice instead of instant, and hamburger that had been thawing in the fridge all day - many of the meatballs fell apart but who cares? It is still delicious! We served it over the rest of the rice that didn't make it into the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
ok, gave these a try and was quite surprised. I did add a little extra spices to my meat mixture. I ended up adding about a half of a cup plain bread crumbs to thicken up the meat. My husband did not care for the sauce, but he did like the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Nice, basic recipe for a beginning cook. A quick, easy and satisfying supper that will appeal to a variety of taste buds. 4 stars as my son loved this recipe, however I found the meatballs to be dry and in need of extra seasonings, and the tomato soup mix to taste, well, like tomato soup. Not sure how you can "jazz" it up, but definitely worth tinkering with. Thank you for posting Michelle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Horrible, meatballs broke up and it was an entire waste of time and food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Quick and simple recipe with a lot of zip! My husband and I both loved the zesty taste so the worcestershire sauce was the right amount. I used regular long grain brown rice, so I cooked it beforehand, added the amount called for to the beef, and served the meatballs and sauce over the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States