Zesty Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe as is. It was good, but the meatballs were a bit dry and tough. I tried it a second time, but added half a can of the soup to the meat mixture, and baked the meatballs 40 minutes at 400 and then drained off the fat, and topped it off with the sauce and baked another 20 more minutes. The meatballs were very tender and my 11 month old son could eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I definitely thought this was 5 star hit!! I always like to prepare a recipe the first time exactly as it has been given. I prepared this recipe for dinner tonight and it was a hit, just as written and prepared. I enjoyed the fact that the ingredients required were things that are pretty much staple in the kitchen, nothing fancy, expensive, or hard to find. The ease of preparation and cooking were a *family friendly* combination that made this even more appealing. The ingredients combine to create an extremely tender, juicy meatball with wonderful flavor that is accentuated by the sauce. I loved how the worcestshire sauce zested up the tomatoe soup, it made a wonderful sauce. The rice was perfectly done inside the meatballs. As the contributor suggested I served with hot rice. It was a family pleasing hit. My picky 18 month old loved the meatballs which was something..she doesn't care for beef very much. However, she loved these meatballs. My equally picky husband isn't much for anything different and even he loved these. I would strongly suggest that anyone try this. And of course, because everyone has individual tastes and preferences you may want to may some adjustments, but please give it a try just as it is first. Thanks Michelle for such a wonderful recipe. This will be a keeper for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
This was easy and tasted so good! I made the meatballs all one size by putting the meat mixture on a cutting board and the cutting the meat into squares. A great technique I learned from a friend. I also baked the meatballs in the oven instead of browning tham, I find it much esier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
This recipe helped me with the porcupine meatballs my mama mada. The only difference, I think is that Mama used tomato sauce as opposed to the tomato soup called for in this recipe. It really does make a big and better difference. I'd also encourage you to make extra sauce in which to cook the meatballs. You can NEVER have enough sauce !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
These are so good. My 17 month old daughter loved them and ate two meatballs. The meat has a really soft texture that was great for her. The sauce, while simple was really very taste. I will make again for sure. I do not buy instant rice and used about 1/2 cup of cooked long grain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
What a great recipe! I cut back a little bit on the worcestershire sauce as suggested. I also, after forming the meatballs baked them in a glass dish on 350 for about 20-25 minutes to save on time from pan-frying. It came out delicious!! Will definitely make again. Thanks Michelle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZZYD1219

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This one is going into the rotation! I made it with ground turkey, a little diced green pepper, reduced sodium/fat soup and instant brown rice. I also tried baking it as some reviewers did. It took 35 minutes at 350 to cook thoroughly. Served it with mashed potatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Nice, basic recipe for a beginning cook. A quick, easy and satisfying supper that will appeal to a variety of taste buds. 4 stars as my son loved this recipe, however I found the meatballs to be dry and in need of extra seasonings, and the tomato soup mix to taste, well, like tomato soup. Not sure how you can "jazz" it up, but definitely worth tinkering with. Thank you for posting Michelle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Thought these were quite tasty, made with hot rice. Next time I will try using Tomato sauce instead of Tomato soup as another reader suggested. I baked the meatballs in the oven for 30 minutes then transferred to deep skillet and added tomato soup mix, simmered for 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
"Nummy Nummy!" Said my 18 month old after eating this treat! It came out great, I added garlic powder. Also I had a half of green, red and yellow pepper left over from a pasta salad I made so I tossed them in and they added great flavor and color! But nothing really needs to be changed. So easy to make! My mother used to make this when I was a child, but I don't remeber it being nearly as good. A real kid pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEG1014

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States