Zesty Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This recipe is excellent. I searched for it because I had left-over rice from a previous meal and wanted to use it in a meatball. I changed this recipe to include the already cooked cold rice instead of instant rice. I also used ground turkey instead of ground beef. It turned out very good even with the changes. Tomato soup with Worcestershire sauce is delish. Served over noodles it made a great meal. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Excellente! I made them *almost* exactly as the recipe showed. But I didn't have onion salt, only onion powder, so I added some onion powder and about 1/2 tsp. garlic salt. I also used dried parsley. I'll definitely make again! Will probably bake them next time, then transfer to a pan to simmer. I made a double batch and it was quite tricky turning them to brown on all sides...but the end result was wonderful. I served over white rice. The sauce, as simple as it was, was a nice tangy zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Steward
Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Very good. I added crushed garlic since we all love garlic with beef. I will add more rice next time. I wondered why others served them with rice or noodles. No complaints, though. These are delicious. I don't think other recipes I have used in the past had Worcestershire sauce and that's what puts this over the top. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I make mine using ground pork instead of ground beef, and I just use salt, pepper,onions,minced garlic,regular rice and I use three cans of soup,(has to be Campbell soup tastes so much better!) I usually water down the soup a little. I brown my meat balls first and then add the soup and bake for about an hour at 375C
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Harris

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I've made this a few times and it tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Iloved this reciep. I looked up a homemade tomatoe soup reciepe instead of going to the store and buying canned tomatoe soup. It was a huge sucess in my house! Even the leftovers tasted great! Saving this n my recipe list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
These were fine but nothing special. Will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Allen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
good very easy to make. would add more spices to the meat mixture but it was fine and everyone liked it. made it for a superbowl party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sundropkisses

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Yum. Just like mom used to make. I added half a can of soup to the meatballs to make them nice and tender and a bit of extra rice to soak that up. I also wanted more sauce so I used the other one and half cans of soup and added a can of tomato sauce. A few extra shakes of Worcestershire and some hot sauce and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Brought back childhood memories. I didn't have 2 cans soup so substituted 16 oz tomato sauce. Also added some diced green peppers to the sauce. I baked in a casserole dish at 350 for 45 minutes. Served with low sodium beef Rice-a-Roni and corn for an easy meal on a busy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States