Zesty Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
first time i ever tried making meatballs and they came out great. i used some suggestions from other reviews - -used tomato sauce instead of the soup, and added half a can to the meat instead of a tablespoon. -added an extra can of sauce & an extra 1/8 cup of worcestershire to the additional sauce to cook in; looks like alot, but it was the right amount. -cooked in the oven at 400 for 40 minutes then drained the fat, added the rest of the sauce & cooked for an additional 20 minutes. i toasted up some sandwich rolls & added sliced mozzerella to the top to make amazing meatball sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
My husband and son loved these. They were very tasty, and it is a must make again in my home! I followed the recipe exactly. I think next time I will just put it in a loaf rather than make meatballs just to cut out a step or two. Overall, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
5 stars for ease, 4 stars for taste. Very simple and yummy recipe. used reviewers suggestions..added extra parsley. put 1/2 can of tomato soup in the meatball mixture, and added a clove of garlic. I love Worcestershire but was worried about it for the kiddies. So I did 2 smaller casserole dishes ..one with sauce as written (LOVED IT) and one with a jarred tomato sauce (very good too!) Served with mashed potatoes. Easy family dinner everyone loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I don't know why but the meatballs were good but the sauce was bland, really surprised by the way it turned out, maybe if tomatoe sauce was used it would be bettter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Not the hit I expected. Used less than half the Worcestershire sauce called for and it was still overpowering. Will modify tomato sauce next time - not hard to customize tomatoe sauce. But otherwise a quick and easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Ok - here's the deal with this recipe. The amount of liquid as listed in the is not enough to cook the meatballs for several hours in a crock pot & still have the desired amount of "gravy". Increase the fluit by adding a can of diced tomatoes and more beef stock. Also, I chopped up a big green pepper and added that to the sauce for more of a "unstuffed pepper" stew. If you prefer a thicker stew, do not add much more beef stock &/ or use a thickening agent. Secondly, the meatballs are very bland if made exactly by the recipe. Add garlic powder, onion powder, definitely more salt to taste and pepper. I serve this dish over buttered noodles and it is very well received. Explosion of flavors when seasoned properly and the house smells delightful while cooking. Easy to master - no fuss - family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermitage, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Made this for our family night supper. ALL attendees gave it rave reviews. One thing I did differently when I doubled the recipe was to put all meatballs into a large baking dish and heat in the oven with the sauce rather than do it stove top. I sprayed the pan with Pam, put the meatballs in, added the sauce and covered with tin foil. I cooked for 25 minutes @ 350 degrees. I will definitely make this again!!!! Served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harriet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Lovely recipe! I made this for my mom, who has made these for several years, and she approved! I was nervous that they'd be too onion-y with the chopped onions, and onion powder (I didn't see the need for extra sodium). I doubled the recipe, and served the meatballs over rice I made with vegetable stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReillyMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Add 1 cup Minute Rice; add finely chopped green pepper (about 1/4 c each of green pepper and onion); ONE can tomato soup plus 1.5 cans waters; reduce amount of Worchester sauce significantly; added garlic power. Served w/instant garlic mashed potatoes. Cooked for 40 mins in skillet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
very simple recipe that really was foolproof. I liked the result a lot, and my husband did too. Makes a good sauce with the worcestershire in it. Thanks for a nice, tasty and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARY5140

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States